Globe iconLogin iconRecap iconSearch iconTickets icon

This article was printed from, originally published .

Read more news at:

Twins announce Diamond Award winners

Mauer named MVP for third time; Diamond Awards dinner will be on Jan. 23

MINNEAPOLIS -- The Twins announced on Thursday the winners of the annual Diamond Awards, based on voting conducted by the Twin Cities chapter of the Baseball Writers' Association of America.

All-Star catcher Joe Mauer was named the Most Valuable Player, receiving the Calvin R. Griffith Award. It's the third time he's won the award, as he also was the club's MVP in 2009 and '10.

Fellow All-Star Glen Perkins was named Pitcher of the Year, receiving the Joseph W. Haynes Award, and also won the Carl R. Pohlad Community Service Award.

The awards will be given out at the ninth annual Diamond Awards dinner on Jan. 23, 2014, at Target Field. The event will benefit brain, nerve and muscle disorders research at the University of Minnesota.

Left-handed reliever Caleb Thielbar was named the winner of the Bill Boni Award given to the Most Outstanding Rookie. The Randolph, Minn., native posted a 1.76 ERA in 49 appearances.

Second baseman Brian Dozier was named the Most Improved Player, receiving the Charles O. Johnson Award, and was also the winner of the Mike Augustin "Media Good Guy" Award. He developed into a solid second baseman in his sophomore campaign, setting the club record for home runs by a second baseman with 18, and ranked third among American League second basemen in extra-base hits with 55.

Shortstop Pedro Florimon is the second recipient of the Jim Kaat Award for Defensive Player of the Year. He was involved in 101 double plays, the second most in baseball at the position, and posted the fourth-best zone rating among AL shortstops.

For the third time in his career and for the second straight season, Justin Morneau was named the winner of the Bob Allison Award, given to the player who exemplifies determination, hustle, tenacity, competitive spirit and leadership both on and off the field. Morneau, with his wife, Krista, hosts events such as the Justin Morneau Casino Night, which raises money for the Arthritis Foundation. He was traded to the Pirates on Aug. 31 after 11 years with the Twins and is set to be a free agent this offseason.

Washington Nationals right-hander Jordan Zimmermann was named the winner of the Dick Siebert Award given to the Upper Midwest Player of the Year. Zimmermann, who grew up in Auburndale, Wis., had a 3.25 ERA in 32 starts for the Nats this season.

The ninth annual Diamond Awards dinner will honor the 2013 BBWAA award recipients as well as the winners of the Sherry Robertson Award (Byron Buxton) for Minor League Player of the Year, the Jim Rantz Award (Andrew Albers ) for Minor League Pitcher of the Year, and the Kirby Puckett Alumni Community Service Award (Frank Quilici).

All proceeds from the event will benefit the University of Minnesota's research and patient care focused on ALS (Lou Gehrig's Disease), ataxia, muscular dystrophy, multiple sclerosis and Parkinson's disease. Along with the award winners, current and former Twins players and coaches are scheduled to appear at the event. Corporate sponsorship opportunities, tables and individual tickets are available. For more information on the event, visit or call (612) 624-4444.

Rhett Bollinger is a reporter for Read his blog, Bollinger Beat, and follow him on Twitter @RhettBollinger.

Minnesota Twins, Brian Dozier, Pedro Florimon, Joe Mauer, Justin Morneau, Glen Perkins, Caleb Thielbar, Jordan Zimmermann