Globe iconLogin iconRecap iconSearch iconTickets icon

This article was printed from mlb, originally published .

Read more news at:

'Hawk' among White Sox voices up for Frick honor

CHI View Full Game Coverage CAGO -- With signature calls such as "You can put it on the board, Yes!" "Mercy," "Stretch" and "It's all good," television play-by-play announcer Ken "Hawk" Harrelson is as closely associated with the White Sox as many of the players in uniform.

Now, that iconic White Sox figure once again has a chance to become enshrined in Cooperstown, N.Y.

Harrelson is eligible for the National Baseball Hall of Fame's 2013 Ford C. Frick Award for excellence in broadcasting. Also eligible are White Sox radio play-by-play announcer Ed Farmer, television analyst Steve Stone and radio analyst Darrin Jackson.

Fan votes through the Hall of Fame's Facebook site will determine the top 40 broadcasters who will advance to the Fan Finals. A second round of voting will determine three of the 10 names on the final ballot.

All 222 active and retired broadcasters with 10 consecutive years of Major League broadcast service with a team, network or a combination of the two are eligible for consideration during a three-week voting period, which will conclude at 4 p.m. CT on Friday, Sept. 7. Fans are limited to one vote per day.

Farmer is in his 21st full season as part of the White Sox Radio Network and seventh as the play-by-play announcer. Stone, a nominee for the 2008 Frick Award, is in his fifth season with the White Sox after spending 20 seasons in the Chicago Cubs' broadcast booth. Jackson is in his fourth season in the radio booth after having spent nine seasons with Harrelson in the television booth.

This season marks the 21st consecutive in the television booth as a White Sox announcer for Harrelson, who was one of the three broadcasters elected to the final ballot of the 2007 Frick Award by fan votes. In June 2010, the White Sox celebrated "Hawk Harrelson Night" and named the broadcast level at U.S. Cellular Field the "Hawk Harrelson Broadcast Level" in '11.

A 21-member electorate will select the 2013 Frick Award winner, comprised of the 16 living Frick Award winners and five historians and veteran media members. The winner will be announced at baseball's Winter Meetings in Nashville, Tenn., in early December.

Chicago White Sox