Globe iconLogin iconRecap iconSearch iconTickets icon

This article was printed from, originally published .

Read more news at:

Alexei's double stands after Rays challenge ruling

CHICAGO -- Rays manager Joe Maddon tried unsuccessfully to get his players out of the seventh inning Monday night when his challenge on a bang-bang play at second base stood.

With two outs and the White Sox leading, 6-3, in the bottom of the seventh, Alexei Ramirez sent a blooper to right field that fell in front of Wil Myers. Ramirez turned on the jets and tried to stretch a single into a double, just as Myers fired a throw to second. Ramirez appeared to slide into the bag under the tag, and, after a three-minute, 10-second review, the call stood.

View Full Game Coverage

Ramirez was stranded at second, however, when Rays reliever Juan Carlos Oviedo struck out the very next batter, Alejandro De Aza, to end the inning.

The White Sox went on to win, 7-3, to take three of four from the Rays in the series.

"They're kind of hot right now," said Maddon, who was trying to stop the bleeding. "They're swinging the bats well, and you got to give them credit. They played well and they're playing with a lot of energy right now. They're just playing very good baseball. We are not playing as good as they are right now."

Tony Meale is a contributor to

Chicago White Sox, Tampa Bay Rays, Yunel Escobar, Wil Myers, Alexei Ramirez