Globe iconLogin iconRecap iconSearch iconTickets icon

This article was printed from, originally published .

Read more news at:

Ibanez leads Yanks' field of GIBBY nominees

NEW YORK -- The Yankees enjoyed plenty of memorable moments charging to an American League-best 95 victories in 2012. The organization's 17th postseason appearance in 18 years could now pay off with some serious winter hardware.

Ten Yankees have been listed among the nominees in the 11th Greatness in Baseball Yearly Awards, including three appearances by Raul Ibanez for his late-season slugging heroics alone.

Robinson Cano is nominated for Best Hitter, with David Robertson up for top Setup Man. Gold Glover Mark Teixeira is under consideration for the Defensive Player award.

Russell Martin and Teixeira's beautiful play on Lew Ford's swinging bunt in Game 1 of the AL Division Series against the Orioles is a Play of the Year nominee.

Curtis Granderson's 5-for-5, three-homer performance against the Twins on April 20 is up for recognition in the Hitting Performance category, while skipper Joe Girardi and general manager Brian Cashman are nominated in the categories of Manager of the Year and Executive of the Year, respectively.

Ibanez appears in three categories for his September and October surge. His 12th-inning RBI single on Oct. 2 off Boston's Andrew Miller, which followed a pinch-hit two-run homer in the ninth and kept the Yankees alone in first place in the AL East, is nominated for the year's best Walk-Off.

Ibanez's two homers in Game 3 of the ALDS, which tied and later won the game, are nominated for the best Postseason Moment. He is also listed in the Postseason MVP category.

Major League Baseball's A-listers will take home 2012 GIBBYs trophies -- the ultimate honors of the sport's awards season -- based on votes by media, front-office personnel, MLB alumni, fans at and the Society for American Baseball Research.

This year's GIBBY Awards feature nominees in 21 categories. Individual honors will be given for top Hitter, Starting Pitcher, Setup Man, Rookie, Breakout Hitter, Breakout Pitcher, Comeback Player and Closer. Balloting also will determine the GIBBY winners for Postseason MVP, Defensive Player, Manager and Executive.

GIBBY trophies also will be awarded for Storyline, Hitting Performance, Pitching Performance, Play, Walk-off, Oddity, Cut4 Topic and Postseason Moment. The nominees come with supporting video evidence, courtesy of's Must C highlight reels.

In the past four years, you the fans have cast more than 40 million votes across the various GIBBYs categories, none of which were restricted to individual league affiliation.

Fans can vote as many times as they want until balloting closes on Dec. 2, at 11:59 p.m. ET.

Winners will be presented their GIBBY trophies at the Greatness in Baseball Yearly Awards extravaganza during the Winter Meetings in Nashville, Tenn., on Dec. 4.

New York Yankees, Robinson Cano, Raul Ibanez, Mark Teixeira