Globe iconLogin iconRecap iconSearch iconTickets icon

This article was printed from mlb, originally published .

Read more news at:

Yankees name OF Tyler Austin and RHP Mark Montgomery winners of the 2012 Kevin Lawn "Player of the Year" and "Pitcher of the Year" awards

The New York Yankees today announced that outfielder Tyler Austin and right-handed pitcher Mark Montgomery were named winners of the Yankees' 2012 Kevin Lawn Award as the Yankees' minor league "Player of the Year" and "Pitcher of the Year," respectively. The two players will receive their awards prior to today's Yankees-Marlins game at George M. Steinbrenner Field, scheduled to begin at 1:05 p.m.

The annual awards are dedicated to Kevin O'Brien Lawn - the son of longtime Yankees Vice President and Chief of Operations Jack Lawn - who passed away in 1999. 

Austin, 21, combined to hit .322 with 35 doubles, six triples, 17 home runs and 80 RBI in 110 combined games with the GCL Yankees, Single-A Charleston, Single-A Tampa and Double-A Trenton. He led all Yankees minor league hitters in batting average for the second consecutive season, ranked third in RBI and fourth in stolen bases (23). The Georgia-native was named a South Atlantic League All-Star after batting .320 with 22 doubles, 14 home runs, 54 RBI and 17 stolen bases in 70 games while with the RiverDogs. Following the season, Baseball America tabbed him as the fourth-best prospect in the Yankees organization.

Montgomery, 22, split the season with Single-A Tampa and Double-A Trenton, combining to go 7-2 with 15 saves and a 1.54 ERA (64.1IP, 11ER) in 46 relief appearances, leading all Yankees farmhands in saves. He played in five postseason games with the Thunder and did not allow a run in 6.0 innings out of the bullpen, striking out 11 batters. Following the season, Montgomery made nine relief appearances with the Scottsdale Scorpions, of the Arizona Fall League, and struck out 19 batters in 10.1 innings of relief (0-0, 2.61 ERA, 1 save). His .143 batting average against marked the fourth-lowest among all AFL relievers. 

Each player will be presented with a trophy designed by C & C Awards, as well as a designer watch, courtesy of Manfredi Jewels.


  Player of the Year Pitcher of the Year
2012 OF Tyler Austin (GCL/CHA/TAM/TRE) RHP Mark Montgomery (TAM/TRE)
2011 C Austin Romine (TRE/SWB) RHP D. J. Mitchell (SWB)
2010 SS Eduardo Nunez (SWB) RHP David Phelps (TRE/SWB)
2009 C Austin Romine (TAM) RHP Zach McAllister (TRE)
2008 OF Brett Gardner (SWB) LHP Phil Coke (TRE/SWB)
2007 OF Austin Jackson (CHA/TAM/SWB) RHP Ian Kennedy (TAM/TRE/SWB)
2006 1B Cody Ehlers (TAM) RHP Phil Hughes (TRE)
2005 OF Kevin Thompson (COL/TRE) RHP Matt DeSalvo (TRE)
2004 1B Andy Phillips (COL/TRE) RHP Chien-Ming Wang (TRE/COL)
2003 C Dioner Navarro (TAM/TRE) RHP Jorge DePaula (COL)
2002 2B Andy Phillips (COL/NOR) LHP Danny Borrell (NOR/TAM)
    RHP Jorge DePaula (NOR)
2001 OF Juan Rivera (COL/NOR) LHP Brandon Claussen (NOR/TAM)
  OF Marcus Thames (NOR)  
2000 3B Scott Seabol (NOR) LHP Randy Keisler (COL)
1999 2B D'Angelo Jimenez (COL) LHP Ed Yarnall (COL)
  1B Nick Johnson (NOR)  
1998 1B Nick Johnson (TAM) RHP Ryan Bradley (TAM/NOR/COL)
1997 3B Mike Lowell (COL/NOR) LHP Eric Milton (NOR/TAM)
1996 OF Ricky Ledee (COL/NOR) RHP Jay Tessmer (TAM)
1995 SS Derek Jeter (COL) RHP Matt Drews (TAM)
1994 SS Derek Jeter (TAM/ALB/COL) LHP Andy Pettitte (COL/ALB)
1993 OF Billy Masse (COL) LHP Ryan Karp (ALB/PRW/GBO)
1992 1B J.T. Snow (COL) RHP Sam Militello (COL)
1991 C Kiki Hernandez (GBO/PW) RHP Ed Martel (ALB/COL)
  SS Dave Silvestri (ALB) RHP Sam Militello (PW/ALB)
1990 OF Hensley Meulens (COL) RHP Dave Eiland (COL)
1989 1B Hal Morris (COL) LHP Steve Adkins (FTL/ALB)
1988 1B Kevin Maas (PRW/ALB) RHP Todd Malone (Sarasota)
1987 OF Darren Reed (COL) RHP Dana Ridenour (FTL)
1986 3B Chris Alvarez (FTL) RHP Logan Easley (ALB)
1985 OF Dan Pasqua (COL) RHP Brad Arnsberg (ALB)
1984 C/OF Scott Bradley (COL) LHP Jim Deshaies (COL)
1983 OF Brian Dayett (COL) RHP Jose Rijo (FTL/Nashville)
1982 OF Matt Winters (GBO/Nashville) RHP Bob Tewksbury (FTL)
1981 1B Don Mattingly (COL) LHP Pete Filson (FTL/Nashville)
1980 1B Steve Balboni (Nashville) RHP Gene Nelson (FTL)
New York Yankees