Globe iconLogin iconRecap iconSearch iconTickets icon

This article was printed from, originally published .

Read more news at:

Yankees name INF Greg Bird and RHP Shane Greene winners of the 2013 Kevin Lawn "Player of the Year" and "Pitcher of the Year" Awards

The New York Yankees announced today that infielder Greg Bird and right-handed pitcher Shane Greene were named winners of the 2013 Kevin Lawn Award as the Yankees' minor league "Player of the Year" and "Pitcher of the Year," respectively. The two players received their awards prior to tonight's Yankees vs. Pirates game at George M. Steinbrenner Field.

The annual awards are dedicated to Kevin O'Brien Lawn-the son of longtime Yankees Vice President and Chief of Operations Jack Lawn-who passed away in 1999. 

Bird, 21, batted .288 (132-for-458) with 36 doubles, three triples, 20 home runs and 84RBI in 130 games with the Single-A Charleston RiverDogs. The left-handed slugger led all minor leaguers in walks (107) and finished fourth in on-base percentage (.428). He also ranked second in the South Atlantic League with a .938 OPS. Following the season, the 2011 fifth-round draft pick was named a Topps Class-A All-Star and was ranked by Baseball America as the Yankees' eighth-best prospect.

Greene, 25, split the season with Single-A Tampa and Double-A Trenton, combining to go 12-10 with a 3.38 ERA (154.1IP, 58ER) over 27 appearances (26 starts). He led all Yankees minor leaguers in innings pitched and wins, while ranking second in starts and third in strikeouts (137). A 2009 15th-round pick out of Daytona Beach Community College, Greene made two postseason starts for the Eastern League Champion Trenton Thunder, allowing just 2ER in 11.0IP (1.64 ERA).

Each player was presented with a trophy designed by C&C Awards, as well as a designer watch, courtesy of Betteridge Jewelers.


Year Player of the Year Pitcher of the Year
2013 INF Greg Bird (CHA) RHP Shane Greene (TAM/TRE)
2012 OF Tyler Austin (GCL/CHA/TAM/TRE) RHP Mark Montgomery (TAM/TRE)
2011 C Austin Romine (TRE/SWB) RHP D. J. Mitchell (SWB)
2010 SS Eduardo Nunez (SWB) RHP David Phelps (TRE/SWB)
2009 C Austin Romine (TAM) RHP Zach McAllister (TRE)
2008 OF Brett Gardner (SWB) LHP Phil Coke (TRE/SWB)
2007 OF Austin Jackson (CHA/TAM/SWB) RHP Ian Kennedy (TAM/TRE/SWB)
2006 1B Cody Ehlers (TAM) RHP Phil Hughes (TRE)
2005 OF Kevin Thompson (COL/TRE) RHP Matt DeSalvo (TRE)
2004 1B Andy Phillips (COL/TRE) RHP Chien-Ming Wang (TRE/COL)
2003 C Dioner Navarro (TAM/TRE) RHP Jorge DePaula (COL)
2002 2B Andy Phillips (COL/NOR) LHP Danny Borrell (NOR/TAM)
RHP Jorge DePaula (NOR)
2001 OF Juan Rivera (COL/NOR)
OF Marcus Thames (NOR)
LHP Brandon Claussen (NOR/TAM)
2000 3B Scott Seabol (NOR) LHP Randy Keisler (COL)
1999 2B D'Angelo Jimenez (COL)
1B Nick Johnson (NOR)
LHP Ed Yarnall (COL)
1998 1B Nick Johnson (TAM) RHP Ryan Bradley (TAM/NOR/COL)
1997 3B Mike Lowell (COL/NOR) LHP Eric Milton (NOR/TAM)
1996 OF Ricky Ledee (COL/NOR) RHP Jay Tessmer (TAM)
1995 SS Derek Jeter (COL) RHP Matt Drews (TAM)
1994 SS Derek Jeter (TAM/ALB/COL) LHP Andy Pettitte (COL/ALB)
1993 OF Billy Masse (COL) LHP Ryan Karp (ALB/PRW/GBO)
1992 1B J.T. Snow (COL) RHP Sam Militello (COL)
1991 C Kiki Hernandez (GBO/PW)
SS Dave Silvestri (ALB)
RHP Ed Martel (ALB/COL)
RHP Sam Militello (PW/ALB)
1990 OF Hensley Meulens (COL) RHP Dave Eiland (COL)
1989 1B Hal Morris (COL) LHP Steve Adkins (FTL/ALB)
1988 1B Kevin Maas (PRW/ALB) RHP Todd Malone (Sarasota)
1987 OF Darren Reed (COL) RHP Dana Ridenour (FTL)
1986 3B Chris Alvarez (FTL) RHP Logan Easley (ALB)
1985 OF Dan Pasqua (COL) RHP Brad Arnsberg (ALB)
1984 C/OF Scott Bradley (COL) LHP Jim Deshaies (COL)
1983 OF Brian Dayett (COL) RHP Jose Rijo (FTL/Nashville)
1982 OF Matt Winters (GBO/Nashville) RHP Bob Tewksbury (FTL)
1981 1B Don Mattingly (COL) LHP Pete Filson (FTL/Nashville)
1980 1B Steve Balboni (Nashville) RHP Gene Nelson (FTL)
New York Yankees