Globe iconLogin iconRecap iconSearch iconTickets icon

This article was printed from, originally published .

Read more news at:

Jeter tops at short; McCann second in ASG voting

NEW YORK -- It would be part of a fitting conclusion to Derek Jeter's career if he was named as an American League All-Star for the 14th and final time. Through two checkpoints of fan voting, the public seems to agree with that sentiment.

Jeter is maintaining his lead as the top vote-getter at shortstop (1,007,968), as announced by Major League Baseball on Monday, holding steady ahead of Chicago's Alexei Ramirez (867,156). The Yankees captain recently said that he would consider it an honor to represent the AL at Target Field this summer.

"All-Star Games are great; I mean, it's a fun experience," said Jeter, who has the third-most votes in the AL, behind the Angels' Mike Trout and the Blue Jays' Jose Bautista. "You never know when you're going to get a chance to go, but it's something I think every player would look forward to. I've appreciated every single one that I've gone to."

Catcher Brian McCann (605,941) is second behind the Orioles' Matt Wieters (842,775). Jacoby Ellsbury (625,206) is on the outfield bubble, sitting in fourth behind third-place outfielder Melky Cabrera (743,208) and ahead of fifth-place teammate Carlos Beltran (565,554).

Other players in the mix include first baseman Mark Teixeira (326,972), who ranks fifth behind the Tigers' Miguel Cabrera (962,138). Alfonso Soriano (336,112) is fifth among designated hitters and Brett Gardner (336,386) is 13th among outfielders.

Fans can cast their votes for starters at and all 30 club sites -- online or on a mobile device -- using the 2014 All-Star Game Ballot Sponsored by Experian until Thursday, July 3, at 11:59 p.m. ET. The 2014 All-Star Game will be played at Target Field on Tuesday, July 15.

Fans may submit up to 25 online ballots, but they can also earn a one-time bonus of 10 additional online ballots. To access these additional online ballots, you must be logged into your account when you submit any online ballot. If you do not have an account, register on the site in accordance with the enrollment instructions for a free account.

Fans this year once again can participate in the Home Run Derby Fan Poll. Fans will have the opportunity to select three players in each league who they would most like to see participate in the Home Run Derby. The 2014 Home Run Derby will be broadcast live on ESPN, ESPN HD, ESPN Deportes and ESPN Radio in the United States beginning at 8 p.m. ET on Monday, July 14.

The 2014 American League and National League All-Star teams will be unveiled on the 2014 MLB All-Star Game Selection Show during the weekend of July 5-6, with further details to follow on Immediately following the announcement of the AL and NL All-Star rosters, fans can begin voting to select the final player for each league's 34-man roster via the 2014 All-Star Game Final Vote Sponsored by Experian. Fans will cast their votes from a list of five players from each league over the balloting period.

And the voting doesn't end there. The final phase of All-Star Game voting will again have fans participating in the voting for the Ted Williams All-Star Game Most Valuable Player Award presented by Chevrolet. During the Midsummer Classic, fans will vote exclusively online at via the 2014 All-Star Game MVP Vote Sponsored by Pepsi, and their voice will represent 20 percent of the overall vote that determines the recipient of the Arch Ward Trophy. will provide extensive online coverage of the All-Star Week festivities.

The 85th All-Star Game will be televised nationally by FOX, in Canada by Rogers Sportsnet and RDS, and worldwide by partners in more than 200 countries via MLB International's independent feed. ESPN Radio and ESPN Radio Deportes will provide national radio coverage of the All-Star Game. MLB Network and SiriusXM will also provide comprehensive All-Star Week coverage. For more information, please visit

Bryan Hoch is a reporter for Follow him on Twitter @bryanhoch and read his MLBlog, Bombers Beat.

New York Yankees, Jacoby Ellsbury, Brett Gardner, Derek Jeter, Brian McCann, Alfonso Soriano, Mark Teixeira