Globe iconLogin iconRecap iconSearch iconTickets icon
Kirby Puckett Award

The Kirby Puckett Award recognizes a Twins alumni player or coach who best exemplifies Puckett's legacy of community service and involvement. The winner receives $5,000 from the Twins Community Fund to be granted to the charity of their choice.

2017 Winner: Tim Laudner

Tim Laudner grew up in Brooklyn Center, Minnesota and played for the major league team he grew up cheering for. His work and his community giving have never strayed far from the game he loves or the place he calls home.

Tim, now a television broadcaster, has supported and served as a spokesman for the Stroke Association of Minnesota. His father a stroke victim, Tim worked with the Twins to help raise awareness and dollars for people who suffered from stroke. Tim has also served as the host of the Twins Strike Out Stroke days at the ballpark.

Laudner also partners with the Governor of South Dakota to provide a weekend of hunting for wounded armed service members and veterans. Joined by other celebrities, Laudner pheasant hunts with the wounded service members and provides them experiences at Target Field.

Tim also supports and serves as host for events for the Courage Center. Courage Center is a rehabilitation and residence for people with disabilities. Tim has participated in fundraisers for the organization and has visited with those helped by the organization.

In addition, Laudner makes himself available to local nonprofit organizations, such as the Boys & Girls Clubs of the Twin Cities, to help them raise funds. He also works with wildlife conservation organizations to support their work to restore natural habitats.

Tim also spends countless hours signing autographs at TwinsFest and Autograph Party, helping to raise more than $280,000 for the Twins Community Fund.

Past Winners

2016 - Jim "Mudcat" Grant
2015 - Julio Becquer
2014 - Jim Kaat
2013 - Frank Quilici
2012 - Roy Smalley
2011 - Terry Steinbach

2010 - Bert Blyleven
2009 - Rod Carew
2008 - Kent Hrbek
2007 - Tony Oliva
2006 - Harmon Killebrew