Cubs Scholars

Cubs 2021 Scholars

Education empowers communities. Providing children and young adults with the support and resources needed to excel in school creates a positive learning environment and opens a wealth of opportunities for our next generation of leaders. The Cubs support citywide programs that promote education and college persistence.

The Cubs Scholars program, launched in 2013, offers Chicago inner-city high school students financial contributions and a team-sponsored mentorship program designed to promote academic achievement and post-secondary educational advancement. Cubs Scholars are high-potential students with demonstrated need. Each recipient receives a $20,000 scholarship upon their enrollment in a four-year college or university and participates in a mentoring program with help from Cubs College Prep. The mentoring program helps prepare scholars for the transition from high school to college. The Cubs College Prep programming and mentoring from Cubs associates helps each scholar continue toward college graduation. Students are recommended for Cubs Scholars by Cubs Charities nonprofit partners.

In 2021, Cubs Charities selected its ninth class of Cubs Scholars:

2021 Scholars

  • Freddie Golden – North Lawndale College Prep Charter-Collins
  • Ania Green – Perspectives Charter Leadership Academy
  • Emily Guaman – Lake View High School
  • Angel Huitron – Thomas Kelly High School
  • Nicholas Lagunas – Walter Payton College Prep High School
  • Diana Mejia – Josephinum Academy
  • Neveah Sandoval – Westinghouse College Prep
  • Jennifer Vergara – Jones College Preparatory high school

2020 Scholars

  • Lizbeth Barajas – Solorio High School
  • Yakeena Coleman – Noble Charter-Johnson College Prep
  • Kymora Dillard – Westinghouse College Prep
  • Mya Jackson – Northside College Prep
  • Alyssa Marshall – Senn High School
  • Charles Mitchell – Latin School
  • Brianna Townsel – Collins Academy
  • Kenneth Strongs – DeVry University Advantage Academy

2019 Scholars

  • Alexandra Alanis – Loyola University
  • Abari Davis – University of Michigan-Ann Arbor
  • Junbin Huang – University of Pennsylvania
  • Alexandra Nevarez – Bates College
  • Alejandra Palafox – Northwestern University
  • Marcos Sandoval – Columbia College
  • Brina Taylor – Bradley University
  • De’Andre Wilborn – Georgetown University

Since 2013, Cubs Charities has committed more than $1,080,000 in scholarships to students in Chicago.