Globe iconLogin iconRecap iconSearch iconTickets icon

news

MLB News

Padres, MLB clarify Petco rule on homers

Controversial interpretation on Myers' at-bat prompts tweaks
MLB.com @AJCassavell

SAN DIEGO -- A day after the Padres lost a run because of a controverstial interpretation of the Petco Park ground rules, the club has worked with Major League Baseball to reword the rule in question.

In the Padres' 3-0 loss to Atlanta on Tuesday night, Wil Myers' first inning blast hit the padding on top of the right-field wall and caromed back into the field of play. It was ruled a double.

View Full Game Coverage

SAN DIEGO -- A day after the Padres lost a run because of a controverstial interpretation of the Petco Park ground rules, the club has worked with Major League Baseball to reword the rule in question.

In the Padres' 3-0 loss to Atlanta on Tuesday night, Wil Myers' first inning blast hit the padding on top of the right-field wall and caromed back into the field of play. It was ruled a double.

View Full Game Coverage

The original ground rule stated that any "batted ball in flight striking the top of the right-field wall above/beyond the padding" is a home run. According to the Padres, the rule was intended to specify that any ball hitting on top of the wall be ruled a home run.

Padres manager Andy Green spoke with representatives from Major League Baseball on Wednesday, and he said they acknowledged the rule was not interpreted correctly. A day later, the wording was already in the process of being changed -- though the rule's objective remains the same.

Video: ATL@SD: Umpires review Myers' double off the wall

"They rewrote it entirely -- to say the same thing, in effect," Green said. "A ball that is batted and lands on top of the wall is a home run. ... I can't imagine that particular rule being an issue again."

The new language has not yet been made official, and the wording of the new rule is not yet available.

"Nothing has changed," Green said. "It's just been rewritten for clarity's sake."

Green fumed after the game and said Tuesday's ruling was "probably something I should get tossed for."

Afterward, he was informed by umpires that he couldn't protest the decision because it had already been reviewed via replay.

The league later informed Green that, in fact, he could have filed a protest. But the ruling was unlikely to be overturned anyway, because the rule was misinterpreted rather than misapplied.

Green was also quick to note his own responsibility to run through the specifics of every ground rule before every game.

"It feels like overkill, because sitting in New York are our ground rules, should anything arise," Green said. "You hope they get it right. I don't know what they could miss, going forward. But I'll do my best to make sure nothing's missed like that again, because I do take it personally. I was thinking about it all night. It's a home run for Wil, it's a run for us, that's an opportunity for us to get ahead in the baseball game."

Added Myers: "If it hits the top of the wall, it's a home run. And it clearly hit the top of the wall. There's nothing that can be done about it now. Yeah, I'd like to have had my 16th home run with an RBI and a run yesterday. But I didn't. So I'll just come out and play today."

AJ Cassavell covers the Padres for MLB.com. Follow him on Twitter @ajcassavell.

San Diego Padres