Daniel Lynch, Kyle Isbel named Arizona Fall League All-Stars

October 8th, 2019

KANSAS CITY, MO (October 8, 2019) – The Kansas City Royals will be represented by two prospects in Saturday’s Arizona Fall League All-Star Game, as left-handed pitcher Daniel Lynch and outfielder Kyle Isbel have been selected to the AFL West rosters. Saturday’s game at Salt River Fields at Talking Stick will be broadcast on MLB Network starting at 7:00 p.m. CT, and will also be live streamed on MLB.com.

Surprise manager Scott Thorman will manage the West All-Stars after his Surprise Saguaros finished the first half with a division-leading 9-6 record. Thorman managed Wilmington (Advanced-A) to the Carolina League championship this season, after doing the same for Lexington (Class-A) in the South Atlantic League in 2018.

Lynch is 1-0 with a 0.82 ERA (1 ER in 11.0 IP) in three starts for the Surprise Saguaros, including 8.0 scoreless innings to begin Arizona Fall League play, before allowing his first run in the second inning on Sunday. He ranks tied for third in the league with 17 strikeouts (13.9 K/9), including eight strikeouts in 4.0 innings in his September 29 start vs. Peoria.

Lynch, 22, went 6-2 with a 2.99 ERA (32 ER in 96.1 IP) and 96 strikeouts in 20 starts across three levels this season, including 22.0 consecutive scoreless innings with Wilmington from May 8-25. He was selected in the first round (34th overall) in the 2018 First-Year Player Draft out of the University of Virginia.

Isbel is batting .333 with a .455 on-base percentage in 12 games with Surprise, including 15 hits and nine walks, both of which are just two shy of the Arizona Fall League lead. He’s hit safely in six of his last seven games, including a four-hit effort on September 29 vs. Peoria and a three-hit effort on Sunday at Salt River.

Isbel, 22, had 19 extra-base hits and 11 stolen bases in just 59 games between Wilmington (Advanced-A) and a rehab stint in Surprise this season. He was selected in the third round of the 2018 First-Year Player Draft out of the University of Nevada-Las Vegas.