Globe iconLogin iconRecap iconSearch iconTickets icon

One, two strikes and Chris Stewart is out at the old ballgame

To the average viewer, it looked like Chris Stewart was retired on just two strikes during the third inning of Thursday's Yankees-Orioles game. The Yankees catcher, however, heard something different in the batter's box ... he thinks?

"[Wolf] said something the first pitch, and I thought he called it a strike," Stewart said. "I assumed it was 0-1, I fouled a ball off and I swung and missed at a ball. No one said anything; the umpire didn't say anything, so I just came on back to the dugout and put my stuff away."

O's starter Wei-Yin Chen was surprised when Stewart departed early.

"It has happened to me before, but I was shocked when he walked out of the box," Chen said. "He gives me an out, I'll take it. It's part of baseball."

Joe Girardi, on the other hand, was still trying to make sense of the odd situation after the Yankees ultimately won.

"I don't know. I was confused," the Yankees skipper said. "Who knows what happened there?"
Read More: New York Yankees