Carl R. Pohlad Award

The Carl R. Pohlad Award recognizes outstanding community involvement and on-field performance of one current Twins player or coach each season. The winner receives $5,000 from the Twins Community Fund to be granted to the charity of their choice.

2022 Winner: Carlos Correa

Twins shortstop Carlos Correa has made a big impact on the field in Minnesota, and he's already showing a giving heart when it comes to charity work. While providing quality leadership in the Clubhouse, he is also leading the way with community outreach.

Carlos Correa and his family founded the Correa Family Foundation, a nonprofit 501(c)(3) organization that works to provide transformative experiences and financial support to children battling cancer and their families. The Correa Family Foundation has two major goals: First, to provide unique experiences to improve the emotional status and wellbeing of kids and their families, and second, to offer financial support in the form of grants to help cover the indirect and non-medical costs associated with a pediatric cancer diagnosis. As part of their mission, during extraordinary circumstances, they also support communities affected by natural disasters such as hurricanes, floods, earthquakes, and most recently, the COVID-19 pandemic.

Earlier this spring, Carlos and his wife Daniella participated in the first-ever Twins Week of Service that engaged players from every affiliate in a volunteer project. Once per month, the Correas host a Hero of the Month at a Twins game. They provide a child battling cancer and their family with an unbelievable experience of enjoying the game from the Champions Club and an opportunity to meet Carlos. In September, the Correa Foundation partnered with the Minnetonka Baseball Association to encourage kids to help kids through fundraising. The largest fundraisers had an opportunity to was Twins batting practice and meeting Carlos.

"I'm just trying to give back to the community. God blessed me with a lot of talent to play this game, and I want to give back to the community. That's what I'm going to be doing for the rest of my career."

Past Winners

2021 - Taylor Rogers
2020 - Byron Buxton
2019 - Nelson Cruz
2018 - Jose Berrios
2017 - Kyle Gibson
2016 - Eduardo Escobar
2015 - Brian Dozier
2014 - Brian Duensing
2013 - Glen Perkins
2012 - Denard Span
2011 - Carl Pavano
2010 - Jesse Crain
2009 - Justin Morneau
2008 - Joe Mauer
2007 - Johan Santana
2006 - Michael Cuddyer
2005 - Ron Gardenhire
2004 - Torii Hunter
2003 - Doug Mientkiewicz
2002 - Brad Radke
2001 - Corey Koskie
2000 - Denny Hocking
1999 - Ron Coomer
1998 - Terry Steinbach
1997 - Rick Aguilera
1996 - Paul Molitor
1995 - Kirby Puckett
1994 - Kent Hrbek
1993 - Brian Harper