Terry Ryan Award

Established in 2006, the Play Ball! Minnesota Terry Ryan Award honors a member of the Upper Midwest baseball and softball community that has been a major leader at the youth level. The award acknowledges significant promotional contributions, passion, and improvement of the game in the Upper Midwest. Award winners have displayed a serious dedication to the game and its participants.

Play Ball! Minnesota's highest honor is named after former longtime Minnesota Twins general manager Terry Ryan. The award is in honor of his passion and dedication to the promotion of youth, amateur, and professional baseball and softball throughout Twins Territory.

Nominations are accepted on a rolling basis from baseball and softball fans in Twins Territory. Each fall, the founding members of Play Ball! Minnesota select a winner. The winner is presented with the award at the annual Baseball Writers Association of America Diamond Awards along with many other prestigious Twins awards.

Past Winners

2022: Laura Day; Minneapolis, MN

2021: Todd Smrekar; Cambridge, MN

2020: Corky Reynolds; Crookston, MN

2019: Joe Kreger; Green Isle, MN

2018: Paul Karst: Groton, SD

2017: Jim Pettersen; Fargo, ND

2016: Kim Niederluecke; Richfield, Minn.

2015: Craig Anderson; Pine Island, Minn.

2014: Larry Gallagher; Minneapolis, Minn.

2013: Steve Winfield; St. Paul, Minn.

2012: Jim Berbee; Minnetonka, Minn.

2011: Dale Welter; Chaska, Minn.

2010: Ed Lippert; Eden Prairie, Minn.

2009: Jim Peck; Minnetonka, Minn.

2008: Tink Larson; Waseca, Minn.

2007: Bill Peterson; St. Paul, Minn.

2006: John Wilkens; St. Michael, Minn.