Globe iconLogin iconRecap iconSearch iconTickets icon

A very eager Marcell Ozuna strolled into the batter's box just a bit too early

Coming off a game on Thursday in which he quite possibly hit the trick-shot home run of the year, Marcell Ozuna was, understandably, very eager to take his at-bats during Friday's Phillies-Marlins matchup at Marlins Park.

So eager, in fact, he stepped into the batter's box while Jerad Eickhoff was still throwing test pitches after taking Justin Bour's single off his fingers:

ozuna.gif

According to the MLB Official Rules, "The batter shall take his position in the batter's box promptly when it is his time at bat." Those looks from the Phillies -- including Andres Blanco's not-so subtle wave -- were Ozuna's clue that his time at bat was "not yet."

But hey, Ozuna probably just really wanted to try to hit another "how in the world did that happen?" home run, and who can blame him? That didn't happen, as he popped out in his first at-bat of the game, but it's the thought that counts. Anyway, let's look at the replay one more time:

simpsons.gif