Globe iconLogin iconRecap iconSearch iconTickets icon
Legends for Youth Dinner

Date: Thursday, Nov. 8, 2018

Venue: Capitale

Location: 130 Bowery, New York, NY 10013

Established in 1999, the Major League Baseball Players Alumni Association (MLBPAA) created the Legends for Youth Dinner to recognize former Major League players for their on-field accomplishments and their off-field contributions to communities across the nation. This year, Bob Gibson will be honored with a Lifetime Achievement Award and Terry Francona will accept the Brooks Robinson Community Service Award.

The event, held annually in New York City, also serves as the primary fundraiser for MLBPAA's youth programs and honors baseball's legends with MLBPAA Lifetime Achievement Awards. Past Lifetime Achievement Award recipients include Hank Aaron, Yogi Berra, Bert Blyleven, Wade Boggs, George Brett, Gary Carter, Orlando Cepeda, Roberto Clemente, Andre Dawson, Carl Erskine, Bob Feller, Whitey Ford, Jim "Catfish" Hunter, Jim Kaat, Al Kaline, Harmon Killebrew, Juan Marichal, Mickey Mantle, Buck O'Neil, Phil Niekro, Tony Perez, Gaylord Perry, Bobby Richardson, Robin Roberts, Brooks Robinson, Jackie Robinson, Tom Seaver, Lee Smith, Ozzie Smith, Rusty Staub, Bobby Valentine and Dave Winfield.

This year's event -- the 19th annual Legends for Youth Dinner -- will be held Thursday, Nov. 8, at Capitale in New York City.

In 2017, Hall of Famers Bert Blyleven and Andre Dawson were honored with Lifetime Achievement Awards at the 18th annual Legends for Youth Dinner.

Yankees outfielder Brett Gardner received the overall Heart & Hustle Award.

The MLBPAA allocates proceeds from the event to the Legends for Youth Clinic Series. The Legends for Youth program is a series of free baseball clinics designed to provide children with positive role models, teach young players baseball fundamentals and promote the game of baseball. Former players, such as George Foster, Bobby Grich, Ferguson Jenkins, Phil Niekro, Brooks Robinson, Harmon Killebrew, Orlando Cepeda and Tom Seaver, have participated in past clinics.

View sponsor levels and ad pricing for the 19th annual Legends for Youth Dinner »

For more information or if you have questions regarding the Legends for Youth Dinner and how you or your corporation can attend, email Nikki Warner at