Globe iconLogin iconRecap iconSearch iconTickets icon

After Jarrod Dyson called time, Tanner Roark's abandoned pitch sailed into the stands

When a batter calls time-out at the plate, the general rule of thumb is that a pitcher should follow through with his delivery, lest he awkwardly hold back and risk an injury.
During the Nationals' game with the Royals on Tuesday night, Tanner Roark found himself in this undesirable-but-unavoidable situation when Jarrod Dyson called for a pause.
Caught in the middle of his wind-up, Roark did the best he could and … wound up releasing the ball very high and outside. It almost looked like some kind of technical glitch, but it was very real: 

While that may not be logged as a 'wild pitch', that's essentially what it was -- fortunately for Roark, though, it didn't count.