Gordon, Darling highlight '23 College Baseball HOF

December 8th, 2023

The College Baseball Foundation announced the 12 new members of the College Baseball Hall of Fame on Thursday. The 16th induction class will be honored at the Night of Champions presented by Prairiefire on Feb. 15, 2024, in Overland Park, Kan.

The class is comprised of players, coaches, umpires and administrators -- all who have contributed to college baseball history at the NCAA, NAIA and NJCAA levels.

The 2023 class includes six former players and highlighting that group are a pair of former Major Leaguers whose successes were shaped at the college level: , three-time MLB All-Star and World Series champion with the Kansas City Royals, and , MLB All-Star, World Series champion and Gold Glove Award winner with the New York Mets.

“Each year when the College Baseball Hall of Fame inductees are announced, it creates a tremendous level of pride and appreciation for those that have given so much to the college game,” said Craig Ramsey, Chair of the College Baseball Foundation Board of Directors. “Inducting the newest Hall of Fame members and celebrating top performers from this past year will officially close out the achievements of the 2023 season. Then we will eagerly turn the page to the start of the 2024 college baseball season the very next day.” 

The 2023 class also includes four coaches and two former umpires with storied histories in the college game. Three inductees will be honored posthumously.

To be eligible for the College Baseball Hall of Fame ballot, players must be out of college for 15 years and have completed one year of competition at a two-year institution in the CCCAA, NJCAA or a four-year NCAA (Division I, II or III) or NAIA institution. Ballot-eligible coaches must be retired for two years or be active and no less than 75 years old.

The College Baseball Hall of Fame Class of 2023

Chris Bando, Arizona State: 1975-78 (Catcher)
Pat Casey, George Fox College/Oregon State: 1988-2018 (Coach)
Jack Coffey, Fordham: 1906-09 (Shortstop); 1923-58 (Coach) - deceased
Ron Darling, Yale: 1979-81 (Pitcher/Outfield)
Mike Fuentes, Florida State: 1978-81 (Outfield)
Alex Gordon, Nebraska: 2004-06 (Third Base)
Steve Kemp, Southern California: 1973-75 (Outfield)
Russell Martin, Southwestern: 1982-85 (Pitcher) - deceased
Mike Metheny, Southeastern Oklahoma State: 1981-2017 (Coach)
Marty Miller, Norfolk State: 1973-2005 (Coach)
C.J. Mitchell, College Umpire and Pioneer - deceased 
Tony Thompson: 1978-2018 (Umpire)