Globe iconLogin iconRecap iconSearch iconTickets icon

Chris Coghlan tried to call time, but was forced to hit a game-tying two-run single instead

Chris Coghlan found himself in a big spot on Thursday night: With two outs and the bases loaded in the bottom of the sixth, he came to the plate with the Cubs looking to rally from a 2-0 deficit against the archrival Cardinals. Carlos Martínez was about to deliver his pitch, when suddenly, Coghlan asked for time -- either to disrupt Martinez's rhythm or just to compose himself before such a pivotal moment. He raised his hand, dropped his bat, looked toward the umpire and began to step out of the box.
There was just one problem: Coghlan did not receive the time he sought. Would he simply stand there, possibly letting strike three sail by? Would he flail awkwardly at the ball, unable to recover in time? Nah, he smoked a single to right field:

Coghlan's base hit drove in the tying runs, and the Cubs would eventually win the game, 4-3, in 11 innings. Which makes us wonder: Was this his plan all along? Was he simply hustling us, baiting Martinez into letting his guard down? Stay woke, people.