Globe iconLogin iconRecap iconSearch iconTickets icon

No, Manny Machado, a ricochet off the netting doesn't count as a catch -- but nice try

Rules are rules for a reason. Without them, there would be chaos in every capacity.

This is especially true on the baseball diamond, as without rules the game would be a wildly different experience than what it is.

Who wants that? Perhaps Manny Machado, whose amusing attempt at a sell job on a popup off the third-base side netting in Tuesday's Padres-Yankees game from the Bronx is worth a look:

I can't knock Machado for trying to pull one over on everybody, honestly. The dude knows what a catch is, after all.

zimdog