Globe iconLogin iconRecap iconSearch iconTickets icon

The B.O.A.R.D.: Who did this postseason belong to?

Each October, the MLB postseason belongs to someone or something. Whether it's the Rally Monkey in 2002, Daniel Murphy in 2015 or David Ross last year, October is always dominated by a particular force. With so much good baseball packed into one month, it's sometimes tough to follow all the madness, so we created the Baseball October Arbitrary Rankings Device (The B.O.A.R.D.) to keep track of it all.

On April 2, at roughly 1:12 p.m. ET, Rays right-hander Chris Archer delivered the first pitch of the 2017 season. At 11:59 p.m. ET on Nov. 1, Astros right-hander Charlie Morton threw the final pitch of the 2017 season, getting Corey Seager to ground out to second baseman Jose Altuve. The Astros defeated the Dodgers, 5-1, in Wednesday's Game 7 to clinch the organization's first ever World Series championship. 

Throughout October (and into November, thanks to Game 7), we've been asking: Who does this postseason belong to? What images will we conjure up in 5, 10, 20 years when reflecting back on the 2017 postseason? Which players etched their names in baseball history with iconic on-field performances and memorable off-field moments?

For one final time -- and before we switched our gears into full offseason mode -- we turned to The B.O.A.R.D. to determine who truly owned the 2017 postseason now that it is all said and done. 

Over the course of the last month, 38 different players (and entities) have appeared on the B.O.A.R.D. Below is our ranking of B.O.A.R.D. members No. 38 through 6, based on our assessment of their impact on the 2017 postseason, and who we feel we will remember most. 

38. JD Martinez

37. Paul Goldschmidt

36. Terry Francona

35. Anthony Rizzo


34. Trevor Bauer

33. Elsa Garrison

32. Javier Baez

31. Mother Nature

30. Archie Bradley


29. Wade Davis

28. Vin Scully

27. Greg Bird

26. Enrique Hernandez

25. Bryce Harper


24. CC Sabathia

23. Masahiro Tanaka

22. Corey Seager

21. Yankees bullpen

20. Stephen Strasburg

19. Todd Frazier


18. Aaron Judge

17. Didi Gregorius

16. Brad Peacock

15. Cody Bellinger

14. Joc Pederson


13. Lance McCullers Jr.

12. Charlie Morton

11. Yankee Stadium

10. Chris Taylor

9. Yasiel Puig


8. Clayton Kershaw

7. Sports Illustrated

6. Justin Turner

Who cracked the top 5 on the final B.O.A.R.D.? And who did we determine the 2017 postseason ultimately belonged to? Check out the video above to find out.