Astros go 0-for-7 in vote for ASG starters

July 2nd, 2021

HOUSTON -- Despite having a Major League-high seven players advance to Phase 2 of fan balloting for the All-Star Game, the Astros didn’t have a player voted as a starter. It’s the first time since 2014 the Astros didn’t have a player elected to start the Midsummer Classic.

The All-Star Game position-player starters were unveiled Thursday: Vladimir Guerrero Jr. at first, Marcus Semien at second, Xander Bogaerts at shortstop, Rafael Devers at third base, Salvador Pérez at catcher, Shohei Ohtani at designated hitter and Mike Trout, Aaron Judge and Teoscar Hernández in the outfield.

The rest of the 2021 All-Star rosters will be named at 4:30 p.m. CT Sunday on ESPN.

The seven Astros players who advanced to the Phase 2 ballot were (catcher), (first base), (second base), (third base), (shortstop), (designated hitter) and (outfielder).

Maldonado (20 percent) finished second to Pérez (62 percent); Altuve (32 percent) finished second to Semien (54 percent); Correa (21 percent) finished third behind Bogaerts (42 percent) and Bo Bichette (37 percent); Gurriel (15 percent) finished second to Guerrero (75 percent); Bregman (22 percent) finished second to Devers (61 percent); and Alvarez (17) finished third behind Ohtani (63 percent) and J.D. Martinez (20 percent).

Brantley, who entered Thursday leading the AL with a .340 batting average, could still find his way into the starting lineup as a replacement for Trout, who’s injured and won’t play. Brantley finished fifth among AL outfielders with 10 percent of the vote, but Trout (first) and Byron Buxton (fourth) are both hurt.

The Astros had three starters in 2019 (Bregman, Brantley and George Springer), one starter in 2018 (Altuve), three starters in 2017 (Altuve, Springer and Correa), one starter in 2016 (Altuve) and two starters in 2015 (Altuve and Dallas Keuchel).

Altuve has been to five All-Star Games (2012, ’14-18), while Correa has been to one, Bregman to two (’18-19) and Brantley to four (’14, ’17-19). Maldonado, Gurriel and Alvarez have never played in the All-Star Game. The 2021 All-Star Game will be held at Coors Field on Tuesday, July 13, on FOX.