Yankees instructional league roster, schedule

September 15th, 2018

At the end of each season, Major League clubs hold instructional league play, commonly known as instructs, an extended mini-camp that allows Minor Leaguers -- particularly those just starting their pro careers at the lower levels of their team's system -- to get some work in before calling it a year. Players work on specific parts of their game and get offseason workout plans while often playing a handful of games against nearby teams to provide low-key competition to put what they are working on into practice.

Here's a look at the Yankees roster, with the players' rank in the team's Top 30 Prospects list in parentheses:

Instructional league rosters

PITCHERS: , RHP (No. 4); Pedro Barrios, RHP; Jhony Brito, RHP; Roansy Contreras, RHP (No. 19); Derek Craft, RHP; Pedro Espinola, RHP; Jordan Foley, RHP; Deivi Garcia, RHP (No. 12); Luis Gil, RHP (No. 21); Yoendrys, RHP; Hobie Harris, RHP; Rodney Hutchinson, RHP; Nolan Martinez, RHP (No. 25); Luis Medina, RHP (No. 9); Anderson Munoz, RHP; Tanner Myatt, RHP; Nick Nelson, RHP (No. 18); Glenn Otto, RHP (No. 27); Anderson Severino, LHP; Juan Then, RHP (No. 23); Alexander Vizcaino, RHP; Matt Wivinis, RHP; Miguel Yajure, RHP

CATCHERS: Josh Breaux (No. 15), Jason Lopez, Hemmanuel Rosario, Donny Sands, Anthony Seigler (No. 6)

INFIELDERS: Jesus Bastidas, Oswaldo Cabrera, Ezequiel Duran, (No. 16), Dermis Garcia, Wilkerman Garcia, Nelson Gomez, Kyle Gray, Oswald Peraza, Matt Pita, Steven Sensley, Sincere Smith, Eduardo Torrealba, Eric Wagaman, Brandon Wagner

OUTFIELDERS: Evan Alexander, Estevan Florial (No. 2), , Ryder Green (No. 17), Brandon Lockridge, Isaiah Pasteur, Everson Pereira (No. 14), Stanley Rosario, Canaan Smith, Dom Thompson-Williams

SCHEDULE

Tues., Sept. 25 - vs. Pirates

Wed., Sept. 26 - at Blue Jays

Thurs., Sept. 27 - Camp day

Fri., Sept. 28 - vs. Orioles

Sat., Sept. 29 - at Orioles

Mon., Oct. 1 - Camp day

Tues., Oct. 2 - vs. Braves

Wed., Oct. 3 - Camp day

Thurs., Oct. 4 - vs. Pirates

Fri., Oct. 5 - at Pirates

Sat., Oct. 6 - vs. Braves

Mon., Oct. 8 - Camp day

Tues., Oct. 9 - at Phillies

Wed., Oct. 10 - Camp day

Thurs., Oct. 11 - vs. Phillies

Fri., Oct 12 - at Phillies

Read more: New York Yankees