Altuve, Alvarez lead in All-star voting

MLB released first All-Star balloting update today

June 21st, 2022

HOUSTON, TX - Jose Altuve (second base) and Yordan Alvarez (DH) are the leading vote-getters thus far at their respective positions for the 2022 Major League Baseball All-Star Game. MLB released the first balloting update today.

In addition to Altuve and Alvarez, several other Astros are in the top 10 in votes for their postions: Jeremy Pena (4th-SS), Martin Maldonado (4th-C), Yuli Gurriel (5th-1B), Alex Bregman (5th-3B), Michael Brantley (9th-OF), Kyle Tucker (10th-OF). Note - See the MLB release for voting totals at all positions.

Altuve is currently second among AL second basmen in home runs (12), slugging pct. (.507) and OPS (.853). In his career, Altuve has been selected to the All-Star team seven times, which is tied with Craig Biggio for the most in club history. Altuve has been voted as an All-Star starter four times (2015-18) and selected as a non-starter in 2012, 2014 and 2021.

Alvarez, who is vying for his first All-Star selection, currently leads Astros and is among the top five in the AL in several categories, including home runs (18), RBI (47), slugging pct. (.623) and OPS (1.026). For the month of June, he leads all AL hitters in batting avg. (.444) and OPS (1.301) and ranks second in RBI (19).

Among AL outfielders, Tucker ranks fifth in OPS (.822), tied for fourth in home runs (12) and fourth in RBI.

The 2022 MLB All-Star Game will be played on Tuesday, July 19 at Dodger Stadium. Dusty Baker and his coaching staff will manage/coach the American League squad. MLB Network will announce All-Star finalists on Thursday, June 30. ESPN will unveil the starters on Friday, July 8, and full rosters on Sunday, July 10.

2022 Chevrolet MLB All-Star Ballot

The 2022 Chrevrolet MLB All-Star Ballot, which is available exclusively online and via mobile devices at, all 30 Club web sites and the MLB App, will be accessible until the voting period for Phase 1 concludes at 2:00 p.m. ET on Thursday, June 30th. 

During the initial voting period, fans can submit up to five ballots per 24-hour period on MLB platforms. On Thursday, June 30th, the top two vote-getters at each position (and the top six outfielders) in each League will be revealed on MLB Network at 5:00 p.m. (ET), and they will advance to the second phase of voting to determine who makes the All-Star teams and starts for each League. In addition, for the first time since two-phase balloting began in 2019, the leading vote-getter in each league during the first phase of voting will receive

an automatic starting assignment at the All-Star Game and bypass the second phase of voting. (Note: if an outfielder is a league’s leading vote-getter, Phase 2 voting at the position will still take place to determine the remaining two starters among the next four outfield finalists).