Teoscar Hernández to participate in the 2024 Home Run Derby

July 11th, 2024

LOS ANGELES – Dodgers outfielder Teoscar Hernández will compete in the 2024 T-Mobile Home Run Derby on Monday, July 15 at Globe Life Field in Arlington, Texas. The event will begin at 7 p.m. (CT)/5:00 p.m. (PT) with the main broadcast airing on ESPN accompanied by a special “Statcast” edition airing on ESPN2.

Hernández, who is second on the team with 19 home runs, will be making his first ever appearance in the Home Run Derby. The Dominican-born outfielder has built his reputation as a prolific power hitter, ranking fifth in home runs among Major League outfielders since the beginning of the 2018 season. Over the course of his nine-year Major League career, the two-time Silver Slugger has mashed 178 home runs, including a career-high 32 long balls during the 2021 season. Hernández becomes the 15th Dodger to participate in the Home Run Derby, and he joins Freddie Freeman (2018), Max Muncy (2018), Shohei Ohtani (2021) and Mookie Betts (2023) as current Dodgers who have participated in the derby.

The Dodgers are one of 10 teams in Major League Baseball history without a Home Run Derby winner, along with the Atlanta Braves, Cleveland Guardians, Colorado Rockies, Houston Astros, Kansas City Royals, Pittsburgh Pirates, San Diego Padres and Tampa Bay Rays. Of the 14 Dodger participants, only Joc Pederson has made it to the finals and was ousted by Todd Frazier at Great American Ball Park in 2015. Pederson owns all the Dodger Home Run Derby records: single-round record holder with 39 in the second round of the 2019 Derby, most homers in a derby with 60 (2019) and total derby homers with 99.

Hernández will compete alongside a star-studded field of Major League sluggers, featuring Baltimore Orioles shortstop Gunnar Henderson, Kansas City Royals shortstop Bobby Witt Jr., Cleveland Guardians third baseman José Ramírez, Philadelphia Phillies third baseman Alec Bohm, New York Mets first baseman Pete Alonso, Atlanta Braves designated hitter Marcell Ozuna and Texas Rangers outfielder Adolis García.

This year’s Home Run Derby will return to the original format, with all eight hitters against each other and the top four advancing to a “knockout-style” second round, and they will be seeded based on the number of home runs they hit in the first round. New to this year will be a pitch limit along with the traditional timer. The first two rounds will conclude when three minutes elapse or 40 pitches are seen, and the final round will end once two minutes pass or when 27 pitches are seen.