White Sox finalize Opening Day roster

March 27th, 2019

PHOENIX – Following today’s exhibition game against Arizona, the Chicago White Sox made the following rosters moves:

• Placed RHP Ian Hamilton (right shoulder inflammation) and OF Jon Jay (right hip strain) on the 10-day injured list, both retroactive to March 25;

• Recalled OF Ryan Cordell and OF Eloy Jiménez from Class AAA Charlotte;

• Reassigned RHPs Evan Marshall and Zach Thompson, C Alfredo González, INFs Ryan Goins, Danny Mendick and Matt Skole and OF Preston Tucker to minor-league camp;

• Re-signed OF Brandon Guyer to a minor-league contract.

With the moves, the White Sox 25-man Opening Day roster will include 12 pitchers, two catchers, six infielders and five outfielders:

Pitchers (12) – Manny Bañuelos, Ryan Burr, Alex Colomé, Dylan Covey, Caleb Frare, Jace Fry, Lucas Giolito, Kelvin Herrera, Nate Jones, Reynaldo López, Iván Nova and Carlos Rodón

Catchers (2) – Welington Castillo and James McCann

Infielders (6) – José Abreu, Yonder Alonso, Tim Anderson, Yoán Moncada, José Rondón and Yolmer Sánchez

Outfielders (5) – Ryan Cordell, Adam Engel, Leury García, Eloy Jiménez and Daniel Palka

Injured List (3) – Ian Hamilton, Jon Jay and Michael Kopech