Here are the Gold Glove Award winners

November 4th, 2020

The 2020 season featured incredible defensive plays around the diamond, including jaw-dropping home run robberies and cannon throws.

So who took home the hardware? The Rawlings Gold Glove Award winners were announced live on ESPN on Tuesday night. Here are all the winners.


American League winner: Evan White (SEA)

White, the No. 17 overall pick in the 2017 MLB Draft, took home his first career Gold Glove Award. The 24-year-old led all AL first basemen with seven Defensive Runs Saved -- two more than any other AL player at the position.

National League winner: Anthony Rizzo (CHC)

Rizzo had a down year at the plate, but he remained rock solid defensively, taking home his third straight Gold Glove Award and his fourth in the last five years. He also took home the 2016 Rawlings Platinum Glove Award -- given to the best overall defensive player from each league.


AL winner: Cesar Hernandez (CLE)

Hernandez had a solid all-around season in his debut year with the Indians, including arguably the best defensive campaign of his career. He finished with six Defensive Runs Saved and a career-best 0.8 defensive WAR en route to taking home his first career Gold Glove Award.

NL winner: Kolten Wong (STL)

Wong captured his second consecutive Gold Glove Award after playing his usual stellar defense at the keystone in 2020. Given that defensive prowess, the 30-year-old figures to receive plenty of attention in free agency this offseason after his 2021 option was declined by the Cardinals.


AL winner: J.P. Crawford (SEA)

After accounting for -9 DRS at shortstop over the previous three seasons, Crawford racked up 6 DRS in 2020 -- second-best among AL shortstops. The breakout defensive campaign earned the 25-year-old his first career Gold Glove Award.

NL Winner: Javier Báez (CHC)

Báez claimed his first career Gold Glove Award after continuing to play superb defense this season despite his struggles at the plate. He finished behind only Fernando Tatis Jr. among NL shortstops in Statcast's Outs Above Average metric and trailed only Dansby Swanson in Defensive Runs Saved.


AL winner: Isiah Kiner-Falefa (TEX)

The 2020 season marked Kiner-Falefa's first season as a full-time infielder -- but that didn't stop him from taking home his first Gold Glove Award. After splitting time between catcher and various infield positions over his first two seasons, the 25-year-old ranked among Statcast’s top 10 infield defenders by its Outs Above Average metric this season while settling in at third base.

NL winner: Nolan Arenado (COL)

Surprise, surprise -- Arenado claimed his eighth Gold Glove in as many big league seasons. His 15 Defensive Runs Saved were three more than any other player at any position. The eight consecutive Gold Gloves mark the second-longest streak to start a career in MLB history, behind Ichiro Suzuki’s 10. Arenado’s streak is the longest among active players and the third-longest all-time among third basemen, trailing only Hall of Famers Brooks Robinson (16 years, 1960-75) and Mike Schmidt (nine, 1976-84).


AL winner: Alex Gordon (KC)

Gordon, who announced his retirement at the end of the season, took home his eighth and final Gold Glove Award. The 36-year-old outfielder capped his career by winning four consecutive Gold Gloves, matching his other four-year Gold Glove streak from 2011-14.

NL winner: Tyler O'Neill (STL)

O'Neill racked up nine Defensive Runs Saved in left field, leading all left fielders. The 25-year-old Cardinals outfielder was rewarded with his first career Gold Glove Award.


AL winner: Luis Robert (CWS)

Robert was tied for the lead among all MLB center fielders in Statcast's Outs Above Average metric at +7. The rookie phenom also racked up 8 DRS, third among AL center fielders behind only Byron Buxton and Kevin Kiermaier.

NL winner: Trent Grisham (SD)

Grisham was honored with his first Gold Glove Award after pacing all NL center fielders with 7 DRS. He also tied for fourth among all big league outfielders in Statcast's Outs Above Average metrics (6) in his debut season for the Padres.


AL winner: Joey Gallo (TEX)

Though likely overshadowed by his bat, Gallo had by far his best defensive season in right field, leading all outfielders with 12 Defensive Runs Saved. In fact, the only player with more DRS at any position across the Majors was Arenado (15 DRS).

NL winner: Mookie Betts (LAD)

Betts may have switched leagues, but that didn't stop the superstar outfielder from taking home his fifth straight Gold Glove Award, albeit his first on the NL side. It comes as little surprise after Betts racked up 11 DRS this season, which led all NL right fielders.


AL winner: Roberto Pérez (CLE)

Pérez had another phenomenal year behind the plate en route to his second straight Gold Glove Award. The Indians backstop led all AL catchers with six DRS after pacing all MLB catchers with 30 DRS in 2019 -- more than twice as many as anyone else at the position.

NL winner: Tucker Barnhart (CIN)

Barnhart claimed his second career Gold Glove Award after previously taking home the honor in 2017. He led all Major League catchers with nine DRS this season.


AL winner: Griffin Canning (LAA)

Canning earned his first career Gold Glove Award after notching three DRS this season, tied with Nathan Eovaldi for the most among AL hurlers. Canning became the first Angels pitcher to take home a Gold Glove since Mark Langston in 1995.

NL winner: Max Fried (ATL)

Fried was not only undefeated with a 2.25 ERA in his 11 starts this season, but he also led all pitchers with five Defensive Runs Saved in just 56 innings of work. The result was his first career Gold Glove Award.