Hall of Fame Inductions set for Sept. 8

Tickets required to attend outdoor ceremony; available beginning July 12

June 9th, 2021

The Baseball Hall of Fame announced on Wednesday that its 2021 Induction Ceremony will have limited attendance, allowing fans to travel to Cooperstown, N.Y., and celebrate the game’s greatest players as part of an outdoor event. The ceremony will commence at 1:30 p.m. ET on Sept. 8.

Lawn seating for the Induction Ceremony will be free, with the major change being that tickets are now required as opposed to open seating at the Clark Sports Center. A limited number of tickets will be made available to fans exclusively via the Baseball Hall of Fame website beginning at 11 a.m. ET on July 12. According to the Hall of Fame’s announcement, seating areas will be designated for vaccinated and unvaccinated ticket holders.

“On behalf of our Board of Directors and our staff, we are thrilled to be able to welcome our Hall of Famers -- the living legends -- and fans back to Cooperstown to celebrate the Induction of the Class of 2020,” said Jane Forbes Clark, Chairman of the National Baseball Hall of Fame and Museum. “Returning the Induction Ceremony to an outdoor event will provide the baseball community with the opportunity to visit Cooperstown and celebrate the induction of four of the game’s greats.”

The Hall of Fame’s 2021 Induction Ceremony will honor the members of the Class of 2020: Derek Jeter, Marvin Miller, Ted Simmons and Larry Walker. No candidates were elected for induction in 2021.

The Induction Ceremony will be broadcast live exclusively on MLB Network.

The awards presentation that will honor Ford C. Frick Award winners Ken "Hawk" Harrelson and Al Michaels, the Baseball Writers’ Association of America Career Excellence Award winners Nick Cafardo and Dick Kaegel, and the 2020 Buck O’Neil Lifetime Achievement Award winner, David Montgomery, will remain an indoor, television-only event taking place on July 24.

Planning for this year’s Hall of Fame ceremonies continues to be adapted to guidelines set forth by the Centers for Disease Control and the state of New York.