2021 John Olerud Award semifinalists announced

May 17th, 2021

LUBBOCK, Texas – Small schools and traditional powers highlight the 2021 John Olerud Two-Way Player of the Year list of semifinalists. But there’s also the guarantee of a first-time winner.

The award is named for the former Washington State University standout who achieved success both as a first baseman and left-handed pitcher during the late 1980s and was inducted into the National College Baseball Hall of Fame in 2007. The award will be presented by the College Baseball Foundation later this summer.

“With the season being cut short in 2020, it almost guaranteed that a new crop of two-way players would emerge in 2021,” said Olerud Award chairman George Watson. “The best thing about our list of 10 semifinalists is we have players from all levels of play, all classifications and players who have truly shown their versatility and importance throughout this season. These next few weeks will be exciting to see who emerges as the 2021 award winner.”

Among the 10 semifinalists are seven players who have earned honors as the John Olerud Two-Way Player of the Week, including three who have won the award twice. But it’s not limited to just those guys.

One of the most consistent two-way players this season has been Danny Hosley of Norfolk State. The senior shortstop and right-handed pitcher is 6-1 with a 2.89 ERA on the mound, and in nine starts has struck out 70 in 66 1/3 innings.

A two-time weekly award winner, sophomore designated hitter and left-handed pitcher Alex Barker of Monmouth College is hitting .271 with seven home runs and 20 RBI while going 3-1 with a 1.10 ERA and 32 strikeouts in 32.2 innings.

Junior infielder and right-handed pitcher Spencer Schwellenbach has led a resurgence at the University of Nebraska. He is hitting .283 in 36 games with five home runs and 31 RBI and on the mound is 2-1 with a 0.82 ERA and five saves with 26 strikeouts in 22 innings.

Dylan Nedved, a junior infielder and right-hander from Iowa, has racked up eight saves to go with a 4-0 record and 4.20 ERA while hitting .248 with a home run and 18 RBI.

For more information on the Olerud Award, visit the College Baseball Foundation website at www.collegebaseballhall.org.


Name Class School Conference
Alex Barker Soph. Monmouth Metro Atlantic
Justin Campbell Fr. Oklahoma State Big 12
Garrett Delano Sr. Mercer Southern
Danny Hosley Sr. Norfolk State Mid-Eastern
Caleb Littlejim Sr. Kansas State Big 12
Parker Messick Fr. Florida State ACC
Dylan Nedved Jr. Iowa Big Ten
Spencer Schwellenbach Jr. Nebraska Big Ten
Andrew Terrell Jr. Appalachian State Sun Belt
Chris Veach Fr. Presbyterian College Big South