Here are 2023’s MiLB Gold Glove winners

November 14th, 2023

A diving catch in center, a barehanded play at short, a split-second snag from the mound.

Defense can provide some of the most exciting moments in baseball. The best fielders can be casually cool yet consistent vacuums at their position.

Rawlings and Minor League Baseball celebrate the electric and the everyday with the 2023 Gold Glove Award winners, highlighted by Top 100 prospects Jeferson Quero (No. 32) and Jace Jung (No. 67). These nine players will look to follow in the success of the 2022 class, which includes five players who made their Major League debut this year.

Of the 2023 recipients, four were selected in the 2022 Draft. Jung is joined by Nationals third baseman Trey Lipscomb, Cardinals outfielder Victor Scott II and Mariners pitcher Tyler Cleveland. Also, outfielder Nelson Rada signed with the Angels in 2022 as an international free agent.

At 20, Quero advanced to Double-A in the Brewers farm system as he also climbed the MLB Pipeline prospect lists. With 60-grade arm and fielding tools, the No. 2 catching prospect in baseball threw out 35 percent of would-be basestealers -- up from 31 percent in 2022. Quero posted a .988 fielding percentage with just nine errors and 10 passed balls. Milwaukee’s No. 2 prospect grabbed headlines all year, earning a spot in the All-Star Futures Game as well as Southern League post-season All-Star honors.

In his first full season, Jung commanded second base with a .993 fielding percentage and just three errors across High-A West Michigan and Double-A Erie. While MLB’s No. 2 second base prospect is typically known more for his bat, Jung has flashed the leather up the middle since the Tigers selected him with the No. 12 overall pick in the 2022 Draft. Although big brother Josh now has a World Series ring, Jace is the first member of the family to receive a Gold Glove in pro ball.

Yankees first base prospect T.J. Rumfield competed in the MLB Draft League before being selected in the 2021 Draft.

Here is the full list of 2023 Minor League Gold Glove winners:

C: Jeferson Quero (MIL No. 2/MLB No. 32), Biloxi
1B: T.J. Rumfield (NYY NR), Somerset
2B: Jace Jung (DET No. 4/MLB No. 67), West Michigan/Erie
3B: Trey Lipscomb (WSH No. 14), Wilmington/Harrisburg
SS: Noah Miller (MIN No. 23), Cedar Rapids
OF: Victor Scott II (STL No. 4), Peoria/Springfield
OF: Kenedy Corona (HOU No. 11), Asheville/Corpus Christi
OF: Nelson Rada (LAA No. 3), Inland Empire
P: Tyler Cleveland (SEA NR), Modesto