Golden Spikes semifinalists led by MLB's Top 7 Draft prospects

May 20th, 2024

With the 2024 college baseball regular season coming to a close, the list of the players who will vie for the annual Golden Spikes Award has come into focus.

USA Baseball on Monday announced the 25 semifinalists for college baseball's highest award, which recognizes the top amateur player in the country. Many of the names included come as no surprise, as the list is well populated with MLB Pipeline's Top 150 Draft prospects – led by Charlie Condon (No. 1 Draft prospect), Travis Bazzana (No. 2), Jac Caglianone (No. 3), Nick Kurtz (No. 4) and Braden Montgomery (No. 5), Hagen Smith (No. 6) and Chase Burns (No. 7).

Overall, 18 of the 25 semifinalists are on the Pipeline Top 150 list. The others are pitcher Jamie Arnold of Florida State, catcher Brooks Bryan of Troy, outfielder Drew Burress of Georgia Tech, outfielder Lawson Harrill of Campbell, outfielder Jace LaViolette of Texas, pitcher Wyatt Lunsford-Shenkman of Eastern Carolina and infielder Blake Wright of Clemson.

List of 2024 Golden Spikes Award semifinalists:

Jamie Arnold; LHP; Florida State
Travis Bazzana; INF; Oregon State (No. 2 Draft prospect)
Brooks Bryan; C; Troy
Blake Burke; 1B; Tennessee (No. 67 Draft prospect)
Chase Burns; RHP; Wake Forest (No. 7 Draft prospect)
Drew Burress; OF; Georgia Tech
Jac Caglianone; LHP/1B; Florida (No. 3 Draft prospect)
Charlie Condon; 1B/OF; Georgia (No. 1 Draft prospect)

Lawson Harrill; OF; Campbell
Luke Holman; RHP; LSU (No. 56 Draft prospect)
Vance Honeycutt; OF; UNC (No. 23 Draft prospect)
Walker Janek; C; Sam Houston (No. 25 Draft prospect)
Ryan Johnson; RHP; Dallas Baptist (No. Draft 58 prospect)
Dakota Jordan; OF; Mississippi State (No. Draft 24 prospect)
Josh Kuroda-Grauer; INF; Rutgers (No. 124 Draft prospect)
Nick Kurtz; 1B; Wake Forest (No. 4 Draft prospect)

Jace LaViolette; OF; Texas A&M
Wyatt Lunsford-Shenkman; RHP; ECU
Braden Montgomery; OF/RHP; Texas A&M (No. 5 Draft prospect)
Christian Moore; INF; Tennessee (No. 52 Draft prospect)
Hagen Smith; LHP; Arkansas (No. 6 Draft prospect)
James Tibbs III; OF/1B; Florida State (No. 22 Draft prospect)
Payton Tolle; LHP/INF; TCU (No. 83 Draft prospect)
Blake Wright; INF; Clemson
Trey Yesavage; RHP; ECU (No. 11 Draft prospect)

The Golden Spikes Award was established in 1978. Previous winners to later enjoy success in the Major Leagues include MVPs Bryce Harper and Buster Posey, Cy Young winners Tim Lincecum and David Price, as well as All-Stars including Will Clark, Robin Ventura, Kris Bryant and Adley Rutschman.

What's next?

Fan voting for the Golden Spikes Award continues until June 3. Finalists will be announced two days later, and fan voting will run through June 21.

The 46th Golden Spikes Award will be presented at 7 p.m. ET on June 22 on ESPN before Game 1 of the College World Series finals.