64 teams set for NCAA Division I tournament

May 31st, 2021
Vanderbilt is looking to repeat as NCAA champions after the program's title in 2019.John Peterson/AP

The road to Omaha is back open, and now we know the teams making the trip.

The 64 programs aiming for a shot at 2021 glory were announced by the NCAA Division I Baseball Committee on Monday.

Arkansas, Texas, Tennessee and Vanderbilt snagged the top four overall seeds while Arizona, TCU, Mississippi State, Texas Tech, Stanford, Notre Dame, Old Dominion, Ole Miss, East Carolina, Oregon, Florida and Louisiana Tech will host the other 12 regionals.

Games at all 16 regionals are scheduled to begin this Friday and end next Monday (if necessary). The winner of each double-elimination regional moves on to super regionals at to-be-determined locations. The Men’s College World Series begins June 19 in Omaha.

The tournament will feature some familiar names to those following MLB Pipeline’s ranking of Draft prospects. The fearsome pitching pair of Jack Leiter (No. 3) and Kumar Rocker (No. 5) are both expected to take the mound for defending national champion Vanderbilt. Similarly, No. 9 Ty Madden has a chance to lead Texas to its first NCAA title since 2005 as a right-hander with a solid four-pitch mix. No. 12 Draft prospect and UCLA shortstop Matt McLain is the highest-ranked position player forging his way to Omaha. No. 4 Henry Davis will miss out on the action after Louisville did not make the tournament for the first time since 2011.

Here is how the 2021 regionals of the NCAA Division I tournament shake out:

Fayetteville Regional
1. Arkansas
2. Nebraska
3. Northeastern

Austin Regional
1. Texas
2. Arizona State
3. Southern
4. Fairfield

Knoxville Regional
1. Tennessee
2. Duke
3. Liberty
4. Wright State

Nashville Regional
1. Vanderbilt
2. Georgia Tech
3. Indiana State
4. Presbyterian

Tucson Regional
1. Arizona
2. Oklahoma State
3. UC Santa Barbara
4. Grand Canyon

Fort Worth Regional
1. TCU
2. Oregon State
3. Dallas Baptist
4. McNeese State

Starkville Regional
1. Mississippi State
2. VCU
3. Campbell
4. Samford

Lubbock Regional
1. Texas Tech
3. North Carolina
4. Army West Point

Stanford Regional
1. Stanford
2. UC Irvine
3. Nevada
4. North Dakota State

South Bend Regional
1. Notre Dame
2. UConn
3. Michigan
4. Central Michigan

Columbia Regional
1. Old Dominion
2. South Carolina
3. Virginia
4. Jacksonville

Oxford Regional
1. Ole Miss
2. Southern Miss
3. Florida State
4. Southeast Missouri State

Greenville Regional
1. East Carolina
2. Charlotte
3. Maryland
4. Norfolk State

Eugene Regional
1. Oregon
2. Gonzaga
3. LSU
4. Central Connecticut State

1. Florida
2. Miami (FL)
3. South Alabama
4. South Florida

Ruston Regional
1. Louisiana Tech
2. NC State
3. Alabama
4. Rider