Gordon, Hosmer win Gold Glove Awards

November 8th, 2017

KANSAS CITY -- Royals left fielder and first baseman brought home the gold again.

And 2017 teammates Salvador Perez (catcher) and Lorenzo Cain (center fielder) came up just short.

VOTE NOW: Esurance MLB Awards

Gordon won his fifth Rawlings American League Gold Glove Award, as announced on ESPN on Tuesday night. He also won from 2011-14. Gordon beat out fellow finalists of the Yankees and of the Angels.

Hosmer added to his free-agent resume with his fourth AL Gold Glove Award, having also won from 2013-15. He continued to add to arguably his best season in the Majors, during which he hit a career-best .318 with a .385 on-base percentage, 25 home runs and 94 RBIs.

Hosmer beat out fellow finalists of the Indians and Mitch Moreland of the Red Sox.

2017 Gold Glove winners | Past AL winners

Perez had won four straight AL Gold Glove Awards from 2013-16 before being beat out this season by the Angels' .

Cain, now a free agent, was trying to win his first Gold Glove Award and the first by a Royals center fielder since Willie Wilson in 1980.

Cain led AL center fielders in starts (151), total chances (443) and putouts (430), but he was beat out by Minnesota's .

Complete awards coverage

Kansas City's four finalists were tied for the most in the Major Leagues, matching Boston, Cincinnati, Cleveland and the Angels.

Each manager and up to six coaches on his staff vote on players within their league and cannot vote for players on their own team. In 2013, Rawlings added a sabermetric component to the Gold Glove Award selection process, as part of its new collaboration with the Society for American Baseball Research (SABR). The SABR Defensive Index comprises approximately 25 percent of the overall selection total, while the managers' and coaches' vote continues to carry the majority.