Here are the 2023 All-MLB Team nominees

November 8th, 2023

It’s time for fans to make their voices heard in deciding which players should be named to the 2023 All-MLB Team.

All-MLB honors, first established in 2019, recognize the best player or players at each position across the Majors this past season, with both First Team and Second Team selections. Nominees were announced Wednesday, and fans may vote at once every 24 hours between now and 8 p.m. ET on Nov. 19. (The ballot also will be available in Spanish at

Fan voting will account for half of the selection process, with the other 50% coming from a decorated panel of media members, broadcasters, former players and other officials throughout the game. Winners will be announced on Dec. 16 during MLB Network’s All-MLB Team Show presented by MGM Rewards.

When casting their ballots, voters are asked to consider only performance during the regular season. Each team will include one selection apiece at catcher, first base, second base, shortstop, third base and DH, as well as three outfielders (regardless of specific outfield position), five starting pitchers and two relievers.

Fans will be asked to narrow down a list of candidates that includes 72 position players (nine catchers, seven first basemen, eight second basemen, nine shortstops, 10 third basemen, eight designated hitters and 21 outfielders) and 50 pitchers (26 starters and 24 relievers).

The Astros are the only team with double-digit candidates, and it was an even split for Houston with five position players and five pitchers. Those candidates are second baseman Jose Altuve; third baseman Alex Bregman; designated hitter Yordan Alvarez; outfielders Kyle Tucker and Chas McCormick; starting pitchers Justin Verlander and Framber Valdez; and relievers Ryan Pressley, Bryan Abreu and Hector Neris. Houston edged out Atlanta, which led NL teams with nine nominees, including an MLB-best seven position players.

The list of nominees includes 57 players who were 2023 All-Stars and 44 who have earned All-MLB honors in the past, including 20 from last year (12 First Team selections and nine Second Team picks, with two-way star Shohei Ohtani selected to both). This is Ohtani’s third straight season being nominated at multiple positions. He was a First Team DH and Second Team starting pitcher in 2021, then reversed those in ’22.

Two other themes across the field of 2023 All-MLB nominees are youth and international origins. Six rookies and 20 players age 25 or younger were nominated, as were 45 players born in nine countries and territories outside of the 50 U.S. states.

One other storyline to watch in All-MLB voting is whether the Dodgers’ Freddie Freeman can overcome the Braves’ Matt Olson and the rest of the nominees at first base. Freeman is the only player to be picked for each of the four previous All-MLB squads (on either the First or Second Team), and that streak could reach five in 2023.

Here is the full list of nominees by position.


William Contreras, MIL
Willson Contreras, STL
Jonah Heim, TEX
Ryan Jeffers, MIN
Sean Murphy, ATL
Cal Raleigh, SEA
J.T. Realmuto, PHI
Adley Rutschman, BAL
Will Smith, LAD

First base

Pete Alonso, NYM
Yandy Díaz, TB
Freddie Freeman, LAD
Paul Goldschmidt, STL
Josh Naylor, CLE
Matt Olson, ATL
Christian Walker, AZ

Second base

Ozzie Albies, ATL
Jose Altuve, HOU
Luis Arraez, MIA
Nolan Gorman, STL
Nico Hoerner, CHC
Ha-Seong Kim, SD
Ketel Marte, AZ
Marcus Semien, TEX

Third base

Nolan Arenado, STL
Alex Bregman, HOU
Jake Burger, CWS/MIA
Matt Chapman, TOR
Rafael Devers, BOS
Josh Jung, TEX
Manny Machado, SD
Isaac Paredes, TB
José Ramírez, CLE
Austin Riley, ATL


Orlando Arcia, ATL
Bo Bichette, TOR
J.P. Crawford, SEA
Gunnar Henderson, BAL
Francisco Lindor, NYM
Corey Seager, TEX
Dansby Swanson, CHC
Trea Turner, PHI
Bobby Witt Jr., KC


Ronald Acuña Jr., ATL
Randy Arozarena, TB
Cody Bellinger, CHC
Mookie Betts, LAD
Corbin Carroll, AZ
TJ Friedl, CIN
Adolis García, TEX
Nolan Jones, COL
Aaron Judge, NYY
Steven Kwan, CLE
Josh Lowe, TB
Chas McCormick, HOU
Luis Robert Jr., CWS
Julio Rodríguez, SEA
Anthony Santander, BAL
Kyle Schwarber, PHI
Juan Soto, SD
Fernando Tatis Jr., SD
Lane Thomas, WSH
Kyle Tucker, HOU
Christian Yelich, MIL

Designated hitter

Yordan Alvarez, HOU
Bryce Harper, PHI
J.D. Martinez, LAD
Shohei Ohtani, LAA
Marcell Ozuna, ATL
Brent Rooker, OAK
Jorge Soler, MIA
Justin Turner, BOS

Starting pitcher

Chris Bassitt, TOR
Kyle Bradish, BAL
Corbin Burnes, MIL
Luis Castillo, SEA
Gerrit Cole, NYY
Zach Eflin, TB
Nathan Eovaldi, TEX
Zac Gallen, AZ
Kevin Gausman, TOR
Sonny Gray, MIN
Merrill Kelly, AZ
Clayton Kershaw, LAD
George Kirby, SEA
Pablo López, MIN
Jordan Montgomery, STL/TEX
Shohei Ohtani, LAA
Freddy Peralta, MIL
Eduardo Rodriguez, DET
Kodai Senga, NYM
Blake Snell, SD
Justin Steele, CHC
Spencer Strider, ATL
Framber Valdez, HOU
Justin Verlander, NYM/HOU
Logan Webb, SF
Zack Wheeler, PHI

Relief pitcher

Bryan Abreu, HOU
Adbert Alzolay, CHC
Shawn Armstrong, TB
Félix Bautista, BAL
David Bednar, PIT
Matt Brash, SEA
Yennier Cano, BAL
Aroldis Chapman, KC/TEX
Emmanuel Clase, CLE
Alexis Díaz, CIN
Camilo Doval, SF
Jhoan Duran, MIN
Pete Fairbanks, TB
Josh Hader, SD
Clay Holmes, NYY
Raisel Iglesias, ATL
Chris Martin, BOS
Hector Neris, HOU
Evan Phillips, LAD
Ryan Pressly, HOU
Jordan Romano, TOR
Tanner Scott, MIA
Paul Sewald, SEA/AZ
Devin Williams, MIL