Barrett, Nelson inducted into AFL Hall of Fame

November 14th, 2018

The Arizona Fall League (AFL) inducted veteran MLB umpires Ted Barrett (1993-95) and Jeff Nelson (1996) into the AFL Hall of Fame prior to Wednesday's game between the Peoria Javelinas and Scottsdale Scorpions. 
AFL Director Steve Cobb offers, "We're proud to induct our first two umpires into the Fall League Hall of Fame. Ted Barrett and Jeff Nelson are obvious choices due to their long and meritorious service to baseball."
Barrett & Nelson -- Members of the 2018 World Series umpire crew, Barrett and Nelson are 20-year major-league umpires who arrived in the big leagues in 1999.     
Barrett became the first former AFL umpire to be appointed a crew chief in 2013. His 20-year resume includes numerous postseason assignments -- AL Wild Card Games (2012-13, '15-16), Divison Series (2000-03, '06-07, '11, '14, '18), League Championship Series (2005, '08-10, '12-13, '15-16) World Series (2007 , '11, '14, '18), and the All-Star Game (2007).
He is the only umpire to work home plate for multiple perfect games (David Cone 1999, Matt Cain 2012). He also called balls and strikes for Ervin Santana's 2011 no-hitter and was the first-base umpire for Seattle's 2012 combined no-hitter. Barrett and Eric Cooper both have worked home plate for three no-hitters, the MLB record. Barrett also was the home plate umpire for Greg Maddux's 300th win in 2004.    
Nelson, the first former AFL umpire to work a World Series, was appointed a crew chief in 2014. His list of postseason assignments also is lengthy -- NL Wild Card Game (2012, '15-16), Division Series (2000-01, '05, '08-09, '14, '17-18), League Championship Series (2002, '04, '10-12, '15-16), World Series (2005, '09, '14, '18) and All-Star Games (2006, '14).
For the epic 18-inning Game 3 of the 2018 World Series, Barrett was the home-plate umpire and Nelson worked second base for the seven-hour, 20-minute marathon that included 561 pitches and 125 foul balls. Former Fall Leaguer Max Muncy, who played for the 2013 Mesa Solar Sox, ended the historic contest with an 18th inning walkoff home run in the Los Angeles Dodgers' 3-2 victory vs. the Boston Red Sox.
-- San Francico catcher/first baseman Buster Posey, a three-time World Series champion (2010, '12, '14), five-time NL All-Star (2012-13, '15-17), National League MVP (2012), and NL Rookie of the Year (2010), also was voted into the AFL Hall of Fame this year. Due to off-season surgery, he was unable to travel for induction.
Arizona Fall League Hall of Fame -- The Arizona Fall League formed its Hall of Fame in 2001 to honor the top major-league players and managers who honed their skills in the AFL. The selection committee, chaired by baseball ambassador Roland Hemond, the "Architect of the Arizona Fall League," selects candidates based upon individual achievement at the Major League level since participating in the Arizona Fall League.
Arizona Fall League Hall of Fame (45):
• Garret Anderson
• Dusty Baker
Ted Barrett (ump)
• Chris Carpenter
• Carl Crawford
• Jermaine Dye
• Darin Erstad
• Terry Francona
• Nomar Garciaparra
• Jason Giambi
• Brian Giles
• Adrian Gonzalez
• Shawn Green
• Roy Halladay
• Todd Helton
• Matt Holliday
• Ryan Howard
• Torii Hunter
• Derek Jeter
• Paul Konerko
• Derrek Lee
• Grady Little
• Derek Lowe
• Ken Macha
• Jerry Manuel
• Andrew McCutchen
• Bob Melvin
Jeff Nelson (ump)
• Dustin Pedroia
• Tony Pena
• Troy Percival
• Mike Piazza
Buster Posey
• Albert Pujols
• Jimmy Rollins
• Max Scherzer
• Mike Scioscia
• Alfonso Soriano
• Mark Teixeira
• Mike Trout
• Chase Utley
• Ron Washington
• Eric Wedge
• David Wright
• Michael Young
*Bold: indicates 2018 electee