Globe iconLogin iconRecap iconSearch iconTickets icon
news

MLB News

Braves instructional league roster, schedule

September 16, 2018

At the end of each season, Major League clubs hold instructional league play, commonly known as instructs, an extended mini-camp that allows Minor Leaguers -- particularly those just starting their pro careers at the lower levels of their team's system -- to get some work in before calling it a

At the end of each season, Major League clubs hold instructional league play, commonly known as instructs, an extended mini-camp that allows Minor Leaguers -- particularly those just starting their pro careers at the lower levels of their team's system -- to get some work in before calling it a year. Players work on specific parts of their game and get offseason workout plans while often playing a handful of games against nearby teams to provide low-key competition to put what they are working on into practice.
Here's a look at the Braves roster, with the players' rank in the team's Top 30 Prospects list in parentheses:
Instructional league rosters
PITCHERS: Ian Anderson, RHP (No. 3); Tristan Beck, RHP (No. 15); Thomas Burrows, LHP (No. 19); Corbin Clouse, LHP; Tucker Davidson, LHP (No. 24); Jasseel de la Cruz, RHP (No. 25); Josh Graham, RHP (No. 28); Daysbel Hernandez, RHP; Odalvi Javier, RHP; Connor Johnstone, RHP; Adam McCreery, LHP; Luis Mora, RHP; Kyle Muller, LHP (No. 11); Phil Pfeifer, LHP; Trey Riley, RHP (No. 16); Gabriel Rodriguez, LHP; Matt Rowland, RHP; Freddy Tarnok, RHP (No. 18); Victor Vodnik, RHP; Jeremy Walker, RHP; Patrick Weigel, RHP (No. 21); Keith Weisenberg, RHP; Joey Wentz, LHP (No. 10); Huascar Ynoa, RHP (No. 20)
CATCHERS: Logan Brown, William Contreras (No. 12), Alex Jackson  (No. 27), Carlos Martinez, Ricardo Rodriguez, Ray Soderman
Braves taking old-school approach to instructs
INFIELDERS: CJ Alexander, Braxton Davidson, Ray-Patrick Didder, Darling Florentino, AJ Graffanino, Drew Lugbauer (No. 30), Juan Morales, Austin Riley (No. 4), Alejandro Salazar, Braulio Vasquez, Brendan Venter
OUTFIELDERS: Justin Dean, Jeremy Fernandez, Greyson Jenista (No. 14), Cristian Pache (No. 5), Jefry Ramos, Drew Waters (No. 9), Isranel Wilson (No. 23), Christian Zamora
SCHEDULE
Mon., Sept. 24 - at Pirates
Tues., Sept. 25 - vs. Tigers
Wed., Sept. 26 - at Tigers
Thurs., Sept. 27 - Camp day
Fri., Sept. 28 - Camp day
Sat., Sept. 29 - vs. Pirates
Mon., Oct. 1 - vs. Canada
Tues., Oct. 2 - at Yankees
Wed., Oct. 3 - Camp day
Thurs., Oct. 4 - vs. Canada
Fri., Oct. 5 - at Phillies
Sat., Oct. 6 - at Yankees
Mon., Oct. 8 - vs. Phillies
Tues., Oct. 9 - vs. Canada
Wed., Oct. 10 - vs. Canada
Thurs., Oct. 11 - Camp day
Fri., Oct. 12 - Camp day 
Read more: Atlanta Braves