Posey, umpires Barrett and Nelson join Fall League HOF

July 1st, 2018

The Arizona Fall League (AFL) welcomes three new members to its Hall of Fame --San Francisco Giants catcher (2009 Scottsdale Scorpions) and veteran MLB umpires Ted Barrett (1993-95) and Jeff Nelson (1996).
AFL Director Steve Cobb offers, "Buster Posey has been one of baseball's most consistent performers for the past decade. His list of accomplishments that includes three World Series championships, numerous major awards and performance milestones is truly remarkable. We're also proud to induct our first two umpires into the Fall League Hall of Fame. Ted Barrett and Jeff Nelson are obvious choices for their long and meritorious service to baseball."
Posey -- The three-time World Series champion (2010, '12, '14) has been one of the National League's top players since his debut with the Giants in September 2009. His list of major awards includes N.L. MVP (2012), N.L. Rookie of the Year (2010), N.L. Comeback Player of the Year (2012), four Silver Sluggers (2012, '14-15, '17) and one Gold Glove (2016).  
He has been named to five N.L. all-star teams (2012-13, '15-17) and won the N.L. batting title (2012). Posey is only the fifth catcher in N.L. history named an MVP, joining Johnny Bench (1970, '72), Roy Campanella (1951, '53, '55), Ernie Lombardi (1938) and Gabby Hartnett (1935). Posey, Yogi Berra (1951, Yankees) and Campanella (1955) are the only three catchers in MLB history to win a World Series and earn MVP accolades in the same season. Additionally, Posey is one of only 17 catchers in MLB history to catch three or more nohitters and the only backstop in Giants history to catch over 800 games.
Barrett & Nelson -- Barrett and Nelson are both 20-year major-league umpires who arrived in the big leagues in 1999.
Barrett became the first former AFL umpire to be appointed a crew chief in 2013. His 20-year resume includes numerous postseason assignments -- A.L. Wild Card Games (2012-13, '15-16), division series (2000-03, '06-07, '11, '14), league championship series (2005, '08-10, '12-13, '15-16) World Series (2007 , '11, '14), and the All-Star Game (2007).  
He is the only umpire to work home plate for multiple perfect games (David Cone 1999, 2012). He also called balls and strikes for 's 2011 no-hitter and was the firstbase umpire for Seattle's 2012 combined no-hitter. Barrett and Eric Cooper both have worked home plate for three no-hitters, the MLB record. Barrett also was the home plate umpire for Greg Maddux's 300th win in 2004.
Nelson, the first former AFL umpire to work a World Series, was appointed a crew chief in 2014. His list of postseason assignments also is lengthy -- N.L. Wild Card Game (2012, '1516), division series (2000-01, '05, '08-09, '14, 0'17), league championship series (2002, '04, '10-12, '15-16), World Series (2005, '09, '14), and All-Star Games (2006, '14).  
Arizona Fall League Hall of Fame -- The Arizona Fall League formed its Hall of Fame in 2001 to honor the top major-league players and managers who honed their skills in the AFL. The selection committee, chaired by baseball ambassador Roland Hemond, the "Architect of the Arizona Fall League," selects candidates based upon individual achievement at the major-league level since participating in the Arizona Fall League.

• Garret Anderson
• Dusty Baker
• Ted Barrett (ump)
• Chris Carpenter
• Carl Crawford
• Jermaine Dye
• Darin Erstad
• Terry Francona
• Nomar Garciaparra
• Jason Giambi
• Brian Giles

• Shawn Green
• Roy Halladay
• Todd Helton

• Torii Hunter
• Derek Jeter
• Paul Konerko
• Derrek Lee
• Grady Little
• Derek Lowe
• Ken Macha
• Jerry Manuel

• Bob Melvin
• Jeff Nelson (ump)

• Tony Pena
• Troy Percival
• Mike Piazza
• Buster Posey

• Jimmy Rollins
• Max Scherzer
• Mike Scioscia
• Alfonso Soriano
• Mark Teixeira

• Ron Washington
• Eric Wedge

• Michael Young