College Baseball Foundation announces fourth annual All-American team

June 21st, 2023

LUBBOCK, Texas – The College Baseball Foundation is proud to announce its fourth annual All-American team.

Thanks to the growth and success of the CBF’s three staple awards – the National Pitcher of the Year Award, the Brooks Wallace Award recognizing the top shortstop in the game and the John Olerud Two-Way Player of the Year Award – the CBF is once again honoring the top players from 2023 with its All-American team.

These players brought great success and attention to themselves and their teams and have proven to be outstanding ambassadors for the college game.

Leading the way for this year’s team is national player of the year winner and 2023 National Pitcher of the Year winner Paul Skenes of LSU who also captured the 2022 John Olerud Two-Way Player of the Year honor. The team also features Brooks Wallace Award winner Matt Shaw from Maryland and Olerud Award winner Caden Grice from Clemson.

Those three, along with West Virginia second baseman JJ Wetherholt, LSU outfielder Dylan Crews, Florida outfielder Wyatt Langford, Oral Roberts outfielder Jonah Cox and Wake Forest pitcher Rhett Lowder, were all unanimous selections.

The players were chosen from voting done by the Foundation’s award committees.

For more information on the All-American team or the other College Baseball Foundation Awards, go to


First Team

Catcher: Kyle Teel, Virginia; Cole Messina, South Carolina

First base: Jac Caglianone, Florida; Nick Kurtz, Wake Forest

Second base: JJ Wetherholt¹, West Virginia; Max Anderson, Nebraska; Brock Rodden, Wichita State

Shortstop: Matt Shaw, Maryland¹; Josh Rivera, Florida

Third base: Jake Gelof, Virginia; Brock Wilken, Wake Forest

Designated hitter: Billy Amick, Clemson; Hunter Hines, Ole Miss

Outfield: Dylan Crews, LSU¹; Wyatt Langford, Florida¹; Jonah Cox, Oral Roberts¹

Utility: Caden Grice, Clemson¹; Payton Tolle, Wichita State

Starting pitcher: Paul Skenes, LSU¹; Rhett Lowder, Wake Forest¹; Quinn Mathews, Stanford

Relief pitcher: Brandon Neely, Florida; Andrew Walters, Miami; Tyson Neighbors, Kansas State

Second Team

Catcher: Jack Payton, Louisville; Ryan Campos, Arizona State

First base: Gavin Kash, Texas Tech; Nolan Schanuel, Florida Atlantic

Second base: Edrick Felix, Florida Gulf Coast; Davis Smith, Connecticut

Shortstop: Kevin Dubrule, Army; Jacob Gonzalez, Ole Miss

Third base: Tommy White, LSU; Yohandy Morales, Miami

Designated hitter: Ethan Mann, Dallas Baptist; Keaton Anthony, Iowa

Outfield: Alberto Rios, Stanford; Ethan Petry, South Carolina; Lawson Harrill, Campbell; Enrique Bradfield, Vanderbilt

Starting pitcher: Tanner Hall, Southern Miss; Lucas Gordon, Texas; Josh Hartle, Wake Forest; Omar Melendez, Alabama State; Hagen Smith, Arkansas; Chase Dollander, Tennessee

Relief pitcher: Cade Denton, Tennessee; Simon Miller, UTSA; Mitchell Scott, Kent State; Ryan Bruno, Stanford; Teddy Sharkey, Coastal Carolina; Brady Tygart, Arkansas

¹ -- unanimous selection