College Baseball Foundation announces 2024 Pitcher of the Year watch list

April 25th, 2024

LUBBOCK, Texas – This time last year the talk of the college baseball world from the pitching perspective was focused on one man, and rightly so.

But 2023 Pitcher of the Year Award winner Paul Skenes is now dominating the Minor Leagues for the Pittsburgh Pirates, and that means the field for the 2024 award appears to be wide open, as evidenced by the depth and quality of talent on the Pitcher of the Year watch list, released on Thursday.

"We are excited about this group of pitchers,” Pitcher of the Year Award co-chair Chris Snead said. “There is exceptional strength in this list, not only from the Power Five, but also from the smaller conferences as well, who are showing that they are every bit as talented. This could be one of the tougher selections as no real favorite as emerged this year.”

The award will be presented later this year by the College Baseball Foundation.

While the field may be open, there are some familiar names who have dominated the season so far, led by standout Arkansas left-hander Hagen Smith. The junior has racked up eight victories as Arkansas’ ace with a 1.54 ERA and 100 strikeouts on the season. But on his heels is Samford right-hander Michael Ross, who leads all pitchers on the watch list with nine victories to go with a 2.7 ERA and 66 strikeouts.

Other top-flight starters on the watch list include East Carolina’s Trey Yesavage (seven wins, 1.66 ERA, 86 strikeouts); Reese Dutton of Kansas (seven wins, 3.05 ERA, 57 strikeouts); and Ryan Prager from Texas A&M (seven wins, 2.55 ERA, 74 strikeouts).

The watch list also has its fair share of top relievers, led by UC San Diego left-hander Izaak Martinez. The redshirt senior has compiled three victories and seven saves to go with a 1.35 ERA and 43 strikeouts. Arkansas redshirt-senior right-hander Will McEntire has four saves, two wins, a 3.21 ERA and 53 strikeouts, while Evan Aschenbeck, a senior left-hander at Texas A&M, has four victories and three saves to go with a 1.79 ERA and 51 strikeouts.

For more information on the Pitcher of the Year Award, visit the College Baseball Foundation website at


Name, School, Conference

  • Blake Aita, Kennesaw State, Atlantic Sun
  • Jack Anker, Fresno State, Mountain West,
  • Jamie Arnold, Florida State, ACC
  • Evan Aschenbeck, Texas A&M, SEC
  • Colin Atkinson, Sam Houston, Conference USA
  • Brody Brecht, Iowa, Big Ten
  • Hoss Brewer, Arkansas-Little Rock, Ohio Valley
  • Nick Brink, Portland, West Coast
  • Chase Burns, Wake Forest, ACC
  • Jac Caglianone, Florida, SEC
  • Peyton Calitri, Tennessee Tech, Ohio Valley
  • Clark Candiotti, Arizona, Pac-12
  • Brooks Caple, Lamar, Southland
  • Brian Curley, Virginia Commonwealth, Atlantic 10
  • Marcus Danchision, Lehigh, Patriot
  • Jaron Deberry, Dallas Baptist, Conference USA
  • Andrew Devine, Austin Peay, Atlantic Sun
  • Jason Doktorczyk, Nevada, Mountain West
  • Reese Dutton, Kansas, Big 12
  • Grant Garza, Tarleton, WAC
  • Caleb Granger, Florida A&M, SWAC
  • Mason Griffin, Central Arkansas, Atlantic Sun
  • Luke Hansel, UW-Milwaukee, Horizon
  • Luke Holman, LSU, SEC
  • Joe Husack, Illinois State, Missouri Valley
  • Nolan Johnson, North Dakota State, Summit
  • Ryan Johnson, Dallas Baptist, Conference USA
  • Jackson Kent, Arizona, Pac-12
  • Nate Knowles, William & Mary, Coastal Athletic
  • Brett Lanman, Abilene Christian, WAC
  • Jacob Mayers, Nicholls State, Southland
  • Izaak Martinez, UC San Diego, Big West
  • Nic McCay, South Dakota State, Summit
  • Charlie McDaniel, Presbyterian, Big South
  • Will McEntire, Arkansas, SEC
  • Cade Obermueller, Iowa, Big Ten
  • Billy Oldham, Southern Mississippi, Sun Belt
  • Nick Pinto, UC Irvine, Big West
  • Nick Powers, Michigan State, Big Ten
  • Ryan Prager, Texas A&M, SEC
  • Maximillian Ramirez, Niagara, Metro Atlantic
  • Tony Roca, North Florida, Atlantic Sun
  • Mitchell Ross, Samford, Southern
  • Josh Salinas, Incarnate Word, Southland
  • Jonathan Santucci, Duke, ACC
  • Brett Sears, Nebraska, Big Ten
  • Justin Sinibaldi, Rutgers, Big Ten
  • Hagen Smith, Arkansas, SEC
  • Tristan Smith, Clemson, ACC
  • Brennan Stuprich, Southeastern Louisiana, Southland
  • Brandt Thompson, Missouri State, Missouri Valley
  • Dominc Voegele, Kansas, Big 12
  • Evan Webster, Louisville, ACC
  • Trey Yesavage, East Carolina, American