Several former White Sox miss HOF election

January 25th, 2018

CHICAGO -- Other than legendary slugger Jim Thome, no other former White Sox player came close to National Baseball Hall of Fame election this year, with the results for the 2018 class announced Wednesday night on MLB Network.
In his first year on the ballot, Omar Vizquel received 156 votes (37 percent), well below the 75 percent needed for election. Vizquel, who played for Chicago in 2010 and '11, will manage Class A Advanced Winston-Salem in the White Sox system this season.
Complete Hall of Fame coverage
Andruw Jones, also appearing on the ballot for the first time, received 31 votes (7.3 percent) to remain above the 5 percent mark needed to stay on the ballot. Jones played the 2010 season with the White Sox, hitting 19 homers with 48 RBIs. The center fielder had 434 homers, 1,289 RBIs, 152 stolen bases and 10 Gold Glove Awards over his 17-year career.
Manny Ramirez (second appearance) and Sammy Sosa (sixth) received 93 and 33 votes, respectively. Carlos Lee earned one vote, while Orlando Hudson had none.
Complete 2018 HOF election results
Lee had the longest White Sox tenure from that group, hitting 152 of his 358 home runs and collecting 957 of his 2,273 hits during six years with Chicago from 1999-2004. Ramirez had the shortest stint, playing 24 games in 2010 and hitting just one of his 555 career homers after being claimed off waivers from the Dodgers.
Thome, who had 134 home runs, 369 RBIs and a .933 OPS over four seasons with the White Sox, was elected into the Hall along with Chipper Jones, Vladimir Guerrero and Trevor Hoffman. Thome now serves as a special assistant to White Sox general manager Rick Hahn,