Hawaii captures Little League World Series crown

August 26th, 2018

The team from Honolulu completed a sensational tournament Sunday by shutting out South Korea, 3-0, in Williamsport, Pa., to capture the 2018 Little League World Series.
The victory marks the third time a Hawaiian club has captured the Little League World Series championship, and the first time since 2008. It's the first time a team specifically based in Honolulu has claimed the crown. The West Region champions defeated Georgia, also by a 3-0 score, Saturday to capture the U.S. championship.
It was an emotional victory for several members of the Hawaiian club as they went undefeated through the World Series while Hurricane Lane, a Category 4 storm, approached the players' home state. The storm thankfully downgraded upon landfall, but Hawaii is still dealing with downpours and massive flooding across areas of the state.

Despite the uncertainty at home, Hawaii cruised through the elimination rounds, outscoring opponents by a final aggregate of 26-3. Mana Lau Kong got Hawaii on the board quickly Sunday with a leadoff home run, and the U.S. champions scored two more runs on a wild pitch in the third inning.

That was all the run support Ka'olu Holt needed as the starter allowed just two hits over six frames. Holt finished off his first complete game with a strikeout -- his eighth of the day -- and the celebration was on in Williamsport.