Berrios, Rosario earn top Twins awards

October 18th, 2018

MINNEAPOLIS -- Left fielder was named the Most Valuable Twin, and right-hander was named the Twins Pitcher of the Year as voted on by members of the Twin Cities chapter of the Baseball Writers Association of America, the club announced Thursday.

They're set to be honored at the 14th annual Diamond Awards, which will be held Jan. 24 at The Depot Minneapolis and will benefit research, education and care in brain, nerve and muscle disorders at the University of Minnesota.

Rosario will be presented with the Calvin R. Griffith Award after hitting .288/.323/.479 with 24 homers, 31 doubles and 77 RBIs in 138 games. Berrios is the winner of the Joseph W. Haynes Award after going 12-11 with a 3.84 ERA and 202 strikeouts in 192 1/3 innings. Berrios, who has done extensive charity work in his native Puerto Rico, is also the winner of the Carl R. Pohlad Community Service Award.

Other winners include outfielder Jake Cave as the Twins Most Outstanding Rookie (Bill Boni Award), Max Kepler as the Twins Defensive Player of the Year (Jim Kaat Award) and Joe Mauer as the Upper Midwest Player of the Year (Dick Siebert Award). Right-hander is the winner of two awards, receiving the Mike Augustin "Media Good Guy" Award and the Most Improved Twin.

Former Twins third baseman Corey Koskie is the winner of the Kirby Puckett Award for Twins Alumni Community Service, while Hall of Famer Jack Morris will be given the Herb Carneal Lifetime Achievement Award. Morris joins Herb Carneal (2006), Tom Mee (2007), Carl Pohlad (2008), Jerry Bell (2009), Bert Blyleven (2010), John Gordon (2011), Jim Rantz (2012), Tony Oliva (2013), Tom Kelly (2015), Rod Carew (2016) and Rick Stelmaszek (2017) as the only recipients of the award.