Ramirez drops bat, but hit by foul ball, exits

September 12th, 2017

CLEVELAND -- Indians second baseman left Monday's 11-0 victory over the Tigers at Progressive Field after being hit in the left forearm in the bottom of the sixth inning.

Tigers reliever threw a first-pitch, 93-mph fastball inside to Ramirez, forcing him to leap out of harm's way. But as Ramirez attempted to dodge the incoming heater, the All-Star let go of the bat. After Ramirez released his grip, he brought his hands in towards his body as the ball ricocheted off his bat and hit him in the left forearm.

After Ramirez was checked out by a team trainer, he was removed from the game and replaced by infielder . Indians manager Terry Francona said that Ramirez did not receive an X-ray on his forearm, as he was removed from the game for precautionary reasons.

"It hit his bat first and then he had actually a decent bruise on his forearm," Francona said. "I think it was more trying to get out of the way. I think it stunned him, but he's fine."

The call on the field was initially a hit-by-pitch, but after the Tigers challenged the ruling, the call was overturned.

Before getting hurt, Ramirez drove in three runs in the ballgame, including a two-run homer in the fourth inning.