Globe iconLogin iconRecap iconSearch iconTickets icon
news

MLB News

Callaway ejected for first time as a manager

MLB.com

ATLANTA -- Mets manager Mickey Callaway was ejected for the first time in his managerial career in the top of the sixth inning of Tuesday night's 8-2 loss to the Braves at SunTrust Park.

With a 2-1 count, Mets left fielder Brandon Nimmo was hit on his elbow pad by a Jesse Biddle curveball. Nimmo took off for first, but was called back after home-plate umpire Stu Scheurwater said he leaned into the pitch.

View Full Game Coverage

ATLANTA -- Mets manager Mickey Callaway was ejected for the first time in his managerial career in the top of the sixth inning of Tuesday night's 8-2 loss to the Braves at SunTrust Park.

With a 2-1 count, Mets left fielder Brandon Nimmo was hit on his elbow pad by a Jesse Biddle curveball. Nimmo took off for first, but was called back after home-plate umpire Stu Scheurwater said he leaned into the pitch.

View Full Game Coverage

"You don't have to get out of the way when [the ball] is in the batter's box," Nimmo said of the call. "I think we all knew that."

Callaway raced out of the dugout, clearly upset about the call. It didn't take long for Scheurwater to toss Callaway.

"They thought [Nimmo] kind of put his elbow out over the plate to get hit on purpose," Callaway said after the game. "My argument was that the ball was in the batter's box, kind of at our player and when you are in that position it is hard to get out of the way."

After Callaway was ejected, Nimmo returned to the plate and drew a walk a few pitches later.

Tori McElhaney is a reporter for MLB.com based in Atlanta.

New York Mets