The 2023 award winners will be ...

March 29th, 2023

With Opening Day only a day away, it’s time to predict the American League and National League winners of the four major BBWAA awards: MVP, Cy Young, Rookie of the Year and Manager of the Year.

According to a panel of 87 voters, here’s who will walk away with the prestigious hardware this year.


AL: Shohei Ohtani, Angels
If not for a historic Aaron Judge season, Ohtani would already have multiple MVP Awards, with a chance for a three-peat this year. As it is, the two-way superstar is still on the hunt for his second MVP after finishing behind Judge in 2022. Ohtani has been incredible the past two seasons, combining the production of an elite slugger (80 homers, 151 OPS+) and an ace pitcher (156 ERA+, 11.4 K/9) while putting up 9+ WAR in each year. And it’s possible we haven’t even seen his peak yet. Though 10 other players also received votes for AL MVP, Ohtani was the overwhelming favorite in our poll.

Others receiving votes: José Ramírez, Mike Trout, Julio Rodríguez, Yordan Alvarez, Vladimir Guerrero Jr., José Abreu, Aaron Judge, Bo Bichette, Rafael Devers, Wander Franco

NL: Juan Soto, Padres
Entering his age-24 season, Soto has two Top 5 MVP finishes on his résumé, placing fifth in 2020 and second in 2021. Our voters like the outfielder’s chances of winning the award in his first full season with San Diego. In what was a “down” year for Soto, he still produced a 149 OPS+ with 27 homers and an MLB-leading 135 walks in 2022.

Others receiving votes: Manny Machado, Trea Turner, Ronald Acuña Jr., Nolan Arenado, Pete Alonso, Francisco Lindor, Mookie Betts, Austin Riley, Freddie Freeman, Dansby Swanson


AL: Shohei Ohtani, Angels
If’s expert predictions come to fruition, Ohtani would be just the 12th player to win the MVP and Cy Young Awards in the same season, though none of the previous 11 were pulling double duty as a full-time hitter and pitcher. Ohtani made major strides on the mound last season, recording a 2.33 ERA with 219 strikeouts and a 1.01 WHIP over 166 innings. The performance, which included a 1.67 ERA over his final 19 starts, earned him a fourth-place finish in the AL Cy Young voting.

Others receiving votes: Gerrit Cole, Alek Manoah, Dylan Cease, Framber Valdez, Shane McClanahan, Jacob deGrom, Triston McKenzie, Carlos Rodón, Cristian Javier, Shane Bieber, Luis Castillo, Logan Gilbert, Kevin Gausman

NL: Corbin Burnes, Brewers
Burnes won the NL Cy Young Award in 2021 and has earned votes in each of the past three years, including a seventh-place finish last season. The right-hander reached the 200-inning plateau for the first time in 2022, recording a 2.94 ERA and a 0.97 WHIP with an NL-leading 243 K’s. A second Cy Young win would make him the 22nd pitcher all time to earn the award multiple times. Our voters see this as a close race -- Burnes, Max Fried, Sandy Alcantara and Spencer Strider all received at least 10 votes, while Urías and Verlander got eight apiece.

Others receiving votes: Max Fried, Sandy Alcantara, Spencer Strider, Julio Urías, Justin Verlander, Zac Gallen, Aaron Nola, Max Scherzer, Brandon Woodruff, Kyle Wright, Tony Gonsolin, Yu Darvish, Zack Wheeler


AL: Gunnar Henderson, Orioles
MLB Pipeline’s No. 1 overall prospect, Henderson fared well after making his MLB debut late last season, showing a discerning eye at the plate and demonstrating the ability to consistently produce hard contact. He recorded a 123 OPS+ over 34 games for the O’s and is set to hold an everyday role in 2023. With Pipeline's No. 5 prospect Anthony Volpe set to be on the Yankees' Opening Day roster and Japanese star Masataka Yoshida joining the Red Sox, the AL Rookie of the Year race should be competitive, but the majority of our voters like the 21-year-old Henderson to win it.

Others receiving votes: Masataka Yoshida, Anthony Volpe, Triston Casas, Grayson Rodriguez, Oscar Colas, Hunter Brown, Josh Jung, Bo Naylor

NL: Corbin Carroll, D-backs
A potential five-tool star, Carroll lived up to the hype in his first taste of MLB action after debuting last August. In addition to recording the fastest average sprint speed (30.7 ft/sec) in the Majors, Carroll (MLB Pipeline's No. 2 overall prospect) produced 15 extra-base hits (four homers) in 104 at-bats and posted a 133 OPS+. The D-backs were evidently so impressed by his performance that they signed him to an eight-year, $111 million extension. Carroll clearly captured the attention of’s voting panel as well -- more than half picked him to win the NL Rookie of the Year Award.

Others receiving votes: Jordan Walker, Kodai Senga, Brett Baty, Miguel Vargas, Elly De La Cruz, Ezequiel Tovar, Francisco Alvarez


AL: John Schneider, Blue Jays
Schneider replaced Charlie Montoyo as Blue Jays manager last July, and Toronto removed the interim tag after he led the club to a 46-28 record (.622 winning percentage). Schneider’s task in his first full season at the helm? Helping a talented Blue Jays team get to the next level. Toronto has reached the postseason in two of the past three years but hasn’t finished first in the AL East since 2015 or won a playoff game since 2016.

Others receiving votes: Scott Servais, Pedro Grifol, Rocco Baldelli, Aaron Boone, Phil Nevin, Brandon Hyde, Bruce Bochy, Terry Francona, Dusty Baker, Kevin Cash, A.J. Hinch, Alex Cora, Matt Quatraro

NL: Bob Melvin, Padres
Melvin is a three-time Manager of the Year, earning the honor with the D-backs in 2007 and the A’s in 2012 and 2018. A fourth win would put him in a tie with Buck Showalter, Tony La Russa and Bobby Cox for the most all time. With Xander Bogaerts signing on, Fernando Tatis Jr. returning from injury/suspension and Juan Soto and Josh Hader set for their first full seasons with the team, the Padres have serious championship aspirations entering Melvin’s second year as San Diego’s skipper. He guided the Friars to a Wild Card berth and an NLCS appearance in Year 1.

Others receiving votes: Rob Thomson, Torey Lovullo, Dave Roberts, Buck Showalter, Craig Counsell, Oli Marmol, David Ross, Brian Snitker, Skip Schumaker, Gabe Kapler