List of clubs to be no-hit most frequently

November 2nd, 2022

Every franchise has been on the wrong end of a no-hitter at least twice. Understandably, the two teams at the top of the list go back to the earliest days of the National League. At the other end of the spectrum, 13 teams in the bottom half were expansion franchises that began play after 1960.

Here, in descending order, is how often each of the 30 current Major League franchises have been no-hit:

21: Philadelphia Phillies (Philadelphia Quakers)

20: Los Angeles Dodgers (Brooklyn Dodgers, Brooklyn Robins, Brooklyn Grooms, Brooklyn Bridegrooms, Brooklyn Superbas)

17: Atlanta Braves (Boston Braves, Boston Red Caps, Boston Beaneaters, Boston Doves, Boston Bees)

16: San Francisco Giants (New York Giants)

15: Baltimore Orioles (St. Louis Browns)

14: Cleveland Guardians (Cleveland Indians, Cleveland Naps)

14: Oakland Athletics (Kansas City Athletics, Philadelphia Athletics)

14: Detroit Tigers

13: Chicago White Sox

13: Cincinnati Reds (Cincinnati Red Stockings)

13: Pittsburgh Pirates (Pittsburgh Alleghenys)

12: Boston Red Sox

11: San Diego Padres

9: Minnesota Twins (Washington Senators)

8: New York Yankees (New York Highlanders)

8: St. Louis Cardinals

8: New York Mets

7: Chicago Cubs

7: Seattle Mariners

7: Los Angeles Angels (Anaheim Angels, California Angels)

6: Toronto Blue Jays

6: Texas Rangers (Washington Senators)

6: Tampa Bay Rays (Tampa Bay Devil Rays)

5: Houston Astros (Houston Colt .45's)

4: Washington Nationals (Montreal Expos)

4: Milwaukee Brewers

3: Arizona Diamondbacks

3: Colorado Rockies

3: Miami Marlins (Florida Marlins)

2: Kansas City Royals