MLBPAA announces attendees of 2017 Legends for Youth Dinner

Hall of Famers Bert Blyleven and Andre Dawson will be honored

November 9th, 2017

Colorado Springs, CO -- The Major League Baseball Players Alumni Association (MLBPAA) is pleased to announce attendees for the 18th Annual Legends for Youth Dinner in New York City.

The event, which will place on Tuesday, November 14 at Capitale in New York City, aims to recognize former Major League players for their accomplishments on the diamond coupled with their off-the-field contributions to communities across the nation.

The event will honor Hall of Famers Bert Blyleven and Andre Dawson as Lifetime Achievement Award winners. The overall Heart and Hustle Award winner will also be honored at the event.

Joining the honorees in attendance* will be Hall of Famers Goose Gossage, Tony Pérez and Brooks Robinson, current Minnesota Twin Byron Buxton, current New York Yankee Brett Gardner, as well as former MLB players and managers Manny Acta, Rick Ankiel, Brian Boehringer, Darren Bragg, Fred Cambria, Frank Catalanotto, Rick Cerone, Larry Christenson, Don DeMola, John Doherty, John Flaherty, John Franco, Dwight 'Doc' Gooden, Jim 'Mudcat' Grant, Jim Hannan, Brendan Harris, Ken Henderson, Tommy Hutton, Jim Kaat, Al Leiter, Jim Leyritz, Steve Lyons, Oreste Marrero, Scott McGregor, Brian McRae, Mike Myers, Al Oliver, Mike Pagliarulo, Jim Poole, Dennis Rasmussen, Desi Relaford, Andre Robertson, Steve Rogers, Jim Sadowski, Frank Tepedino, Gary Thorne, José Valdivielso, Fred Valentine, Jon Warden, Dmitri Young and Eric Young.

The MLBPAA allocates proceeds from the dinner to the Legends for Youth baseball clinic series. The Legends for Youth program is a series of free baseball clinics designed to provide children with positive role models, teach young players baseball fundamentals and promote the game of baseball.

To purchase a table or tickets for the Legends for Youth Dinner, please contact Nikki Warner, Director of Communications, at [email protected] or visit

*Celebrity list subject to change.

**To receive a media credential, contact Nikki Warner at [email protected] by November 12, 2017.