Murphy, Turner, Baker, Scherzer up for BBWAA awards

Nats first club since '06 Twins to have top-three finalist in each category

November 8th, 2016

WASHINGTON -- The Nationals have a top-three finalist in each of the four 2016 Baseball Writers' Association of America awards, which were revealed Monday night on MLB Network, the first team to do so since the Twins in 2006.

is a finalist for National League Rookie of the Year, Dusty Baker for NL Manager of the Year, for NL Cy Young and for NL Most Valuable Player.

No NL club has had four top-three finishers since the Braves did so in 1995, when Greg Maddux finished third in MVP voting and won the Cy Young award, Chipper Jones was the runner-up for Rookie of the Year and Bobby Cox finished third for the Manager of the Year.

Voting was submitted before the end of the regular season, and the awards will be handed out as part of BBWAA Awards Week on MLB Network from Nov.14-17. The Nationals have a strong history of award winners, including as the 2015 MVP, Matt Williams and Davey Johnson as Managers of the Year in '14 and '12, respectively, and Harper as the Rookie of the Year in '12.

All-time winners

Although Turner did not become a regular player in the Nationals' lineup until July, once he began starting everyday, the 23-year-old became one of the most impactful Major Leaguers. In 73 games he batted .342/.370/.567, stealing 33 bases and showing off surprising power with 13 homers. The Dodgers' and are the other two finalists.

In his first season at the helm in Washington, Baker led the Nationals to 95 wins and the NL East title. Baker is a three-time Manager of the Year (all with the Giants), and he was also a runner-up with the Cubs and finished second twice with the Reds. The Cubs' Joe Maddon and the Dodgers' Dave Roberts are the other two finalists.

Scherzer enters as perhaps the favorite to win the NL Cy Young, which would give him that honor in both leagues. He captured AL Cy Young Award in 2013. The 32-year-old went 20-7 with a 2.96 ERA and 284 strikeouts in 228 1/3 innings, both of which led the Majors. The Cubs' and are the other finalists.

Murphy established himself as one of the best hitters in the NL by tearing through opposing pitchers and building off his breakout 2015 postseason run. The 31-year-old batted .347/.390/.595 -- just shy of the NL batting title -- and knocked 25 homers. He is a finalist along with Chicago's and Los Angeles' Seager.