Globe iconLogin iconRecap iconSearch iconTickets icon

news

MLB News

Nationals-Padres finale delayed by rain

MLB.com

WASHINGTON -- The start of Sunday's series finale between the Nationals and Padres at Nationals Park has been delayed because of ongoing rain in the Washington, D.C., area. The potential start time is now 2:50 p.m. ET/11:50 a.m. PT. First pitch was originally scheduled for 1:35 p.m. ET/10:35 a.m. PT.

The timing of the delay is not exactly ideal for both clubs, which each have to travel cross-country for games on the West Coast on Monday afternoon. The Padres are scheduled to return to San Diego to host the Cubs at Petco Park at 4:40 p.m. ET/1:40 p.m. PT. The Nationals head to San Francisco to take on the Giants at AT&T Park at 4:05 p.m. ET.

View Full Game Coverage

WASHINGTON -- The start of Sunday's series finale between the Nationals and Padres at Nationals Park has been delayed because of ongoing rain in the Washington, D.C., area. The potential start time is now 2:50 p.m. ET/11:50 a.m. PT. First pitch was originally scheduled for 1:35 p.m. ET/10:35 a.m. PT.

The timing of the delay is not exactly ideal for both clubs, which each have to travel cross-country for games on the West Coast on Monday afternoon. The Padres are scheduled to return to San Diego to host the Cubs at Petco Park at 4:40 p.m. ET/1:40 p.m. PT. The Nationals head to San Francisco to take on the Giants at AT&T Park at 4:05 p.m. ET.

View Full Game Coverage

The Nationals' Joe Ross is set to toe the rubber opposite the Padres' Jhoulys Chacin.

Oliver Macklin is a reporter for MLB.com based in Washington, D.C., who covered the Padres on Sunday.

Washington Nationals, San Diego Padres