'Impossible Dream' team being honored

August 16th, 2017
The Red Sox won 93 games in 1967 after posting just 72 victories a year earlier. (AP)

Boston is commemorating the 50th anniversary of the "Impossible Dream" Red Sox team that won the 1967 American League pennant with ceremonies set to take place prior to tonight's 7:10 p.m. ET contest vs. the Cardinals at Fenway Park.

The festivities are set to begin at 6:30 p.m ET and will be streamed live on MLB.com and redsox.com.

The 1967 AL pennant was Boston's first in 21 years and featured one of the more incredible races in baseball history, as four teams sat within a game and a half of the league lead with four days remaining in the season. It was most memorable for the Red Sox, who defeated the Minnesota Twins twice during the final weekend to secure the crown on the season's last day. The Red Sox also saw their total attendance double from the previous season.

Some of the greatest legends in Red Sox history played integral roles in helping the 1967 team reach the pinnacle of the AL. Slugger Carl Yastrzemski won the league's Triple Crown that season, and hurler Jim Lonborg earned the AL Cy Young Award.

Yastrzemski, Lonborg, Mike Andrews, Gary Bell, Darrell (Bucky) Brandon, Hank Fischer, Ken (Hawk) Harrelson, Bill Landis, Dave Morehead, Jerry Moses, Rico Petrocelli, Billy Rohr, Mike Ryan, Jose Santiago, Reggie Smith, Lee Stange, George Thomas and Gary Waslewski are scheduled to attend tonight's ceremony.